Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Technical Reports - Physics
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Technical Information Service, this resource facilitates accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio visual products from Federal sources.
OSTI: Office of Scientific and Technical Information
The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information provides comprehensive access to the results of DOE research and development investments. OSTI is implementing public access to the peer-reviewed scholarly publications resulting from DOE R&D funding.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Publications Portal
This publications portal "includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The database, however, is not complete. Additional publications are added on a continual basis.
Search engine providing single search access to over 50 million pages of government science and research results. Many results are available in full text. Site is maintained by the Science.gov Alliance, a group of STI government agencies.
DOE Data Explorer (DDE)
DDE contains scientific research data, such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in various science disciplines.
This "offers free public access to the best available full-text version of DOE-funded scholarly publications - either the peer-reviewed, accepted manuscript or the published scientific journal article - after an administrative interval of 12 months. Over 65,000 publicly available full-text journal articles and accepted manuscripts are currently accessible in DOE PAGES and will continue to grow by about 20,000-30,000 publicly-accessible articles and manuscripts a year."
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
"A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975." Currently contains some (but not all) full-text technical reports from the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, U.S. Bureau of Mines, and the National Bureau of Standards.