Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Technical Reports - Engineering
Engineer Research & Development Center (ERDC)
The ERDC Library supports the mission-related research needs of ERDC scientists and engineers at three physical locations with a centralized library catalog and web site. It also hosts an online digital repository of ERDC-authored reports.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Provides centralized access to all of Department of Defense's scientific and technical information on DoD's multidisciplinary research, development, engineering, and studies programs. Some reports available in full text.
DOE Data Explorer (DDE)
DDE contains scientific research data, such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in various science disciplines.
EPA Environmental Topics
Provides access to EPA by topics and by tools (including EPA Methods, Models, Tools, and Databases; Test Method Collections; and Datafinder.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Publications Portal
This publications portal "includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The database, however, is not complete. Additional publications are added on a continual basis.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
NTIS is an agency responsible for collecting for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related since the 1950s. The NTIS database provides citation information for over 3 million publications from 1964 to the present and is available for no cost as Public Access to NTRL. For the same content with some full text options, one can search the National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) (Mines Computing Network/VPN only).
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Technical Information Service, this resource facilitates accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio visual products from Federal sources.
NSCEP/NEPIS - EPA's Gateway to Free Digital and Paper Publications
Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) database providing access to tangible and electronic EPA reports from the 1970s. There are over 25,000 full text electronic reports and this collection continues to grow. The National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) was incorporated into NSCEP in January 2007. NSCEP provides search and browse options.
OSTI: Office of Scientific and Technical Information
The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information provides comprehensive access to the results of DOE research and development investments. OSTI is implementing public access to the peer-reviewed scholarly publications resulting from DOE R&D funding.
Search engine providing single search access to over 50 million pages of government science and research results. Many results are available in full text. Site is maintained by the Science.gov Alliance, a group of STI government agencies.
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
"A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975." Currently contains some (but not all) full-text technical reports from the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, U.S. Bureau of Mines, and the National Bureau of Standards.
TRID (Transport Research International Documentation)
"TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 940,000 records of transportation research worldwide."
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
Many U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) regulations, circulars, manuals and other documents originating from USACE Headquarters are available.