Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Technical Reports - Biology
Biological & Environmental Research Abstracts Database
"The U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Biological and Environmental Research (BER) conducts research in the areas of Climate and Environmental Sciences and Biological Systems Science. This database contains summaries of research projects supported by the program. Work is performed at DOE Laboratories as well as at nearly 300 universities and other research institutions."
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Provides centralized access to all of Department of Defense's scientific and technical information on DoD's multidisciplinary research, development, engineering, and studies programs. Some reports available in full text.
DOE Data Explorer (DDE)
DDE contains scientific research data, such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in various science disciplines.
Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO)
"HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. EPA uses risk assessments to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment."
Human Genome Resources
"NCBI's Web site serves an an integrated, one-stop, genomic information infrastructure for biomedical researchers from around the world so that they may use these data in their research efforts."
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine
Provides access to a cross-database search page for many biological and medical databases. One can search across all databases or select a specific database or website to search.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Publications Portal
This publications portal "includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The database, however, is not complete. Additional publications are added on a continual basis.
National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC)
The U.S. Department of Agriculture provides access to information related to "invasive species as well as general biodiversity.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
NTIS is an agency responsible for collecting for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related since the 1950s. The NTIS database provides citation information for over 3 million publications from 1964 to the present and is available for no cost as Public Access to NTRL. For the same content with some full text options, one can search the National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) (Mines Computing Network/VPN only).
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Technical Information Service, this resource facilitates accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio visual products from Federal sources.
OSTI: Office of Scientific and Technical Information
The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information provides comprehensive access to the results of DOE research and development investments. OSTI is implementing public access to the peer-reviewed scholarly publications resulting from DOE R&D funding.
PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature including MEDLINE, as well as out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals (primarily from general science and chemistry journals, citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing, additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral. Some reports and articles are available in full text.
Search engine providing single search access to over 50 million pages of government science and research results. Many results are available in full text. Site is maintained by the Science.gov Alliance, a group of STI government agencies.
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
"A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975." Currently contains some (but not all) full-text technical reports from the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, U.S. Bureau of Mines, and the National Bureau of Standards.
U.S.Geological Survey (USGS) Publications Warehouse
Primary USGS database providing access to thousands of citations, full text reports, and thematic map USGS materials. Can also order some publications from the web site. Coverage is from the late 1800s forward.
U.S.Geological Survey (USGS) Science
Provides alternate way to search for USGS science programs and activities through a topical directory. Some reports available in full text.