Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Technical Reports - Medicine
Biological & Environmental Research Abstracts Database
"The U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Biological and Environmental Research (BER) conducts research in the areas of Climate and Environmental Sciences and Biological Systems Science. This database contains summaries of research projects supported by the program. Work is performed at DOE Laboratories as well as at nearly 300 universities and other research institutions."
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Provides centralized access to all of Department of Defense's scientific and technical information on DoD's multidisciplinary research, development, engineering, and studies programs. Some reports available in full text.
Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO)
"HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. EPA uses risk assessments to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment."
Human Genome Resources
"NCBI's Web site serves an an integrated, one-stop, genomic information infrastructure for biomedical researchers from around the world so that they may use these data in their research efforts."
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine
Provides access to a cross-database search page for many biological and medical databases. One can search across all databases or select a specific database or website to search.
NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Publications)
Full text of many National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) publications. From 1971 to the present.
PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature including MEDLINE, as well as out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals (primarily from general science and chemistry journals, citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing, additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral. Some reports and articles are available in full text.
Search engine providing single search access to over 50 million pages of government science and research results. Many results are available in full text. Site is maintained by the Science.gov Alliance, a group of STI government agencies.
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
"A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975." Currently contains some (but not all) full-text technical reports from the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, U.S. Bureau of Mines, and the National Bureau of Standards.
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) - Electronic Reading Room
"The mission of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is to enable the nation to safely use radioactive materials for beneficial civilian purposes while ensuring that people and the environment are protected. The NRC regulates commercial nuclear power plants and other uses of nuclear materials, such as in nuclear medicine, through licensing, inspection and enforcement of its requirements. The Electronic Reading Room web site contains information and the documents that are most pertinent to NRC regulatory activities. Many of the documents are in Basic References or Document Collections sections of the web site. The rest are available either from our record retrieval system, ADAMS, or from our Public Document Room found on the web site as well."