Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Technical Reports - Environmental Science
Biological & Environmental Research Abstracts Database
"The U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Biological and Environmental Research (BER) conducts research in the areas of Climate and Environmental Sciences and Biological Systems Science. This database contains summaries of research projects supported by the program. Work is performed at DOE Laboratories as well as at nearly 300 universities and other research institutions."
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Provides centralized access to all of Department of Defense's scientific and technical information on DoD's multidisciplinary research, development, engineering, and studies programs. Some reports available in full text.
DOE Data Explorer (DDE)
DDE contains scientific research data, such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in various science disciplines.
EnviroFacts Data Warehouse
"A single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data. This website provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States."
EPA Environmental Topics
Provides access to EPA by topics and by tools (including EPA Methods, Models, Tools, and Databases; Test Method Collections; and Datafinder.
GESAMP (Joint Group of Experts on the Scientific Aspects of Marine Environmental Protection)
Full text of GESAMP Session Reports, and group committee reports and studies from 1969 to 2015. Available for download as pdf files.
Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO)
"HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. EPA uses risk assessments to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment."
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
NTIS is an agency responsible for collecting for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related since the 1950s. The NTIS database provides citation information for over 3 million publications from 1964 to the present and is available for no cost as Public Access to NTRL. For the same content with some full text options, one can search the National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) (Mines Computing Network/VPN only).
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Technical Information Service, this resource facilitates accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio visual products from Federal sources.
NSCEP/NEPIS - EPA's Gateway to Free Digital and Paper Publications
Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) database providing access to tangible and electronic EPA reports from the 1970s. There are over 25,000 full text electronic reports and this collection continues to grow. The National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) was incorporated into NSCEP in January 2007. NSCEP provides search and browse options.
OSTI: Office of Scientific and Technical Information
The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information provides comprehensive access to the results of DOE research and development investments. OSTI is implementing public access to the peer-reviewed scholarly publications resulting from DOE R&D funding.
Search engine providing single search access to over 50 million pages of government science and research results. Many results are available in full text. Site is maintained by the Science.gov Alliance, a group of STI government agencies.
TRID (Transport Research International Documentation)
"TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 940,000 records of transportation research worldwide."
U.S.Geological Survey (USGS) Climate and Land Use Change
"The USGS undertakes scientific research, monitoring, remote sensing, modeling, synthesis, and forecasting to address the effects of climate and land use change on the Nation’s resources. The resulting research and products are provided as the scientific foundation upon which policymakers, natural resource managers, and the public make informed decisions about the management of natural resources on which they and others depend."
U.S.Geological Survey (USGS) Publications Warehouse
Primary USGS database providing access to thousands of citations, full text reports, and thematic map USGS materials. Can also order some publications from the web site. Coverage is from the late 1800s forward.
U.S.Geological Survey (USGS) Science
Provides alternate way to search for USGS science programs and activities through a topical directory. Some reports available in full text.
U.S. Global Climate Research Program - Publications
"The U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) delivers a variety of publications that highlight scientific advances pertaining to global change. In addition to detailing scientific progress, USGCRP products illustrate the impacts of global change and highlight the Nation’s response to these changes."
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) - Electronic Reading Room
"The mission of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is to enable the nation to safely use radioactive materials for beneficial civilian purposes while ensuring that people and the environment are protected. The NRC regulates commercial nuclear power plants and other uses of nuclear materials, such as in nuclear medicine, through licensing, inspection and enforcement of its requirements. The Electronic Reading Room web site contains information and the documents that are most pertinent to NRC regulatory activities. Many of the documents are in Basic References or Document Collections sections of the web site. The rest are available either from our record retrieval system, ADAMS, or from our Public Document Room found on the web site as well."