Related Guides
In This Guide
This research guide will get you started with data and information resources for learning and research in nuclear engineering, especially those collected and subscribed by the Arthur Lakes Library at Mines.
The School of Mines program in Nuclear Science and Engineering emphasizes the nuclear fuel life cycle. Subtopics include fuel exploration and processing, nuclear power systems production, design and operation, fuel recycling, storage and waste remediation, radiation detection and radiation damage as well as the policy issues surrounding each of these activities.
If you are off-campus and have difficulties with accessing our resources, please see the Off Campus Access guide page for help.
Core Electronic Resources
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases. - Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results.
International Nuclear Information System (INIS) - The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) hosts one of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. The INIS Repository contains over 3.3 million bibliographic references and full-text documents of conventional and non-conventional literature, including scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents and theses. It also maintains a collection of full text documents that would be difficult to obtain elsewhere
Other Electronic Resources
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text coverage for all the sciences, engineering, forestry, geography, homeland security and terrorism, International relations, mathematics, military and defense, public health and safety, and sustainability. - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use CAS SciFinder-n in identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, molecular formula, chemical names, reaction components, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields.
Access Note: Database use is restricted to current Mines-affiliates only and requires an individual user account to access. First-time users must register for an account using your @mines.edu email. - ASCE Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides a simple search interface for all ASCE publications. It provides bibliographic access to all of the ASCE journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters. - arXiv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
arXiv provides open access to over a million e-prints in the fields of computer science, economics, electrical engineering and systems science, mathematics, physics, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. - INSPIRE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
INSPIRE is a database dedicated to literature about High-Energy Physics. Partners include CERN, DESY, Fermilab, and SLAC. - Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is recommended for those looking for policy and social science aspects of nuclear energy research. This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
