Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In This Guide
This research guide will get you started with data and information resources for learning and research in Metallurge and Materials Science, especially those collected and subscribed by the Arthur Lakes Library at Mines. If you have further questions, please contact our librarians using the Library Contact information below. Use the tabs above to navigate through the guide.
If you are off-campus and have difficulties with accessing our resources, please see the Off Campus Access guide page for help.
Core Electronic Resources
Materials Science and Engineering Database
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the METADEX and Polymer Library databases with selected full-text titles. This database includes specialized, abstracted and indexed resources of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
This database is a comprehensive materials science research database providing indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current journals and non-journal titles. It currently includes millions of records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960s. Materials covered include steels, metals, alloys, compounds, and metal matrix composites.
Drawn from the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and other integrated resources, this comprehensive collection of data in the fields of physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, materials science, and related fields allows materials scientists and related scientists to identify materials and their properties.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Editions subscribed to include: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-current) and Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-current).
SciFinder (first-time users see Registration)
SciFinder is a means of accessing the Chemical Abstracts database using a powerful and intuitive search engine to find references to articles. Search for chemical data using a molecular formula, chemical name, chemical structure, reaction components, author name, or topic of interest.
Note: Database use restricted to current Mines-affiliates only and requires an individual user account to access. First-time users, please register with a Mines email address through this link at http://libguides.mines.edu/scifinder_reg
Provides access to over 13,000 active standards, 46,000 historical standards, research reports, and related materials.
Materials Research Society (MRS) Online Proceedings Library
Proceedings of MRS Meetings have been a staple of materials research libraries since the series started in the early 1980s. In addition to many titles still available in print, the MRS Online Proceedings Library Archive includes more than 100,000 peer-reviewed papers online—proceedings published from Volume 1 through the 2015 MRS Spring Meeting. The Archive is fully searchable and can be sorted and viewed by meeting or topic.
Repository of Nanomaterials related data, publication, animation, learning modules, and simulation tools etc.
Access Services & Assessment Librarian