Library Guides: Metallurgy & Materials Science: Find Articles

Mines Library Catalog Search

To start, you may use the Mines Library Catalog to search for research articles for a broad understanding of your research topic. Use the faceted filters on the right side of the search result to narrow it down to Resource Types / Articles.

Please note: not all research articles which the library subscribes to are searchable through the catalog. Only use the catalog for a broad search to get started and use specialized databases such as SciFinder and Web of Science to run more specific and comprehensive searches on your topic.

Core Electronic Resources

Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Includes databases:
Engineering Collection & Materials Science Collection

Is included in the databases:
SciTech Premium Collection & Technology Collection
Materials Science Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance, and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.
Also part of:
Materials Science & Engineering Collection
SciTech Premium Collection
Technology Collection
Materials Science Collection
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.
Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Access Includes:
1. Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-E) --- 1900-present
2. Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) --- 1977-present
3. Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) --- 2014-present
4. Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) --- 1990-present
5. Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --- 1990-present
6. Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --- 2019-present
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use CAS SciFinder-n in identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, molecular formula, chemical names, reaction components, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields.

Access Note: Database use is restricted to current Mines-affiliates only and requires an individual user account to access. First-time users must register for an account using your @mines.edu email.

Materials Research Society (MRS) Online Proceedings Library
Proceedings of MRS Meetings have been a staple of materials research libraries since the series started in the early 1980s. In addition to many titles still available in print, the MRS Online Proceedings Library Archive includes more than 100,000 peer-reviewed papers online—proceedings published from Volume 1 through December 2016. The Archive is fully searchable and can be sorted and viewed by meeting or topic.

Find more databases for Metallurge and Materials Science.

Specialized Information Resources

Materials Science Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance, and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.
Also part of:
Materials Science & Engineering Collection
SciTech Premium Collection
Technology Collection
Materials Science Collection

Key Engineering Materials
17 periodicals on materials science and engineering.

Journal Title Search

If you know the title of the journal you need to browse, you may use the Find e-Journal tool to search for it in our Catalog and use the Link to Fulltext online to access the journals we subscribe to. We may have access to some journals on multiple platforms, which may or may not be the original publisher's site. Browsing journals here will ensure you see all the access points we have for a journal.