Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In This Guide
This research guide will get you started with data and information resources for learning and research in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and related fields, especially those collected and subscribed by the Arthur Lakes Library at Mines. If you have further questions, please contact our librarians using the Library Contact information below. Use the tabs above to navigate through the guide.
If you are off-campus and have difficulties with accessing our resources, please see the Off Campus Access guide page for help.
Core Electronic Resources
SciFinder (first-time users see Registration)
SciFinder is a means of accessing the Chemical Abstracts database using a powerful and intuitive search engine to find references to articles. Search for chemical data using a molecular formula, chemical name, chemical structure, reaction components, author name, or topic of interest.
Note: Database use restricted to current Mines-affiliates only and requires an individual user account to access. First-time users, please register with a Mines email address through this link at http://libguides.mines.edu/scifinder_reg
Web of Science: Core Collection
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Editions subscribed to include: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-current) and Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-current).
Drawn from the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and other integrated resources, this comprehensive collection of data in the fields of physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, materials science, and related fields allows materials scientists and related scientists to identify materials and their properties.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Note: To make sure links to full-text resources offered by Mines are included in your results, click on the Settings button in the right hand corner, then on Library Links in the left hand column. Type in or click on Colorado School of Mines and select Save.
Drawing tools - chemical structure
Chemistry Video Highlights
- Beautiful Micro photography videos revealing Chemistry
Check out http://www.beautifulchemistry.net/ for more micro photographic videos. This project is initiated by a collaboration between University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) and Tsinghua University Press (TUP).
Need to know more about chemical information world?
Chemical Information for Chemists: A Primer by
Call Number: QD8.5 .C44 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
A book for chemists in retrieving and evaluating information using the unique entry points of the chemical literature, including structure, formula, substructure, and sequence.