Systems Discovery Librarian
Related Guides
In This Guide
This research guide will get you started with data and information resources for learning and research in biology and biotechnology, especially those collected and subscribed by the Arthur Lakes Library at Mines. If you have further questions, please contact our librarians using the Library Contact information below. Use the tabs above to navigate through the guide.
If you are off-campus and have difficulties with accessing our resources, please see the Off Campus Access guide page for help.
Core Electronic Databases
- Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Biological Science Collection provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. It comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. - Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases.
Teaching and Learning Multimedia
- HHMI BioInteractiveLabs, interactive media, and videos. Also offers iOS apps.
- Virtual Cell Animation CollectionCollection of animations to introduce students to new concepts in cell biochemistry.
Data and Images
- iDigBio - Integrated Digitized Biocollections
National Resource for Advancing Digitization of Biodiversity Collections (ADBC) funded by the National Science Foundation. Through ADBC, data and images for millions of biological specimens are being made available in electronic format for the research community, government agencies, students, educators, and the general public.