Mines Library Catalog Search
To start, you may use the Mines Library Catalog to search for research articles for a broad understanding of your research topic. Use the faceted filters on the right side of the search result to narrow it down to Resource Types / Articles.
Please note: not all research articles which the library subscribes to are searchable through the catalog. Only use the catalog for a broad search to get started and use specialized databases such as SciFinder and Web of Science to run more specific and comprehensive searches on your topic.
Core Electronic Databases
- Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Biological Science Collection provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. It comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. - Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases. - ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) is an abstracting and indexing service covering the world's literature on the science, technology, management, and conservation of marine, brackish water, and freshwater resources and environments, including their socio-economic and legal aspects. - bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
Journal Title Search
If you know the title of the journal you need to browse, you may use the Find e-Journal tool to search for it in our Catalog and use the Link to Fulltext online to access the journals we subscribe to. We may have access to some journals on multiple platforms, which may or may not be the original publisher's site. Browsing journals here will ensure you see all the access points we have for a journal.
Specialized Databases
Microbiology and molecular biology
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
Health
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. A comprehensive consumer health resource that provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. - Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics for researchers and health care professionals. - Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, CHC is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
- Medline PlusConsumer Health
Toxicology
- TOXLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. - Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Biological Science Collection provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience.
Taxonomy Resources
- Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)Taxonomy of plants, animals, fungi, and microbes in North America and the world.
- Plants Databasestandardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.