General References
Use the Handbooks below to find chemical/physical data of common substances, as well as descriptions of general concepts in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering fields.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 96th Edition by Call Number: REF QD65 .H3ISBN: 9781482260960Publication Date: 2015-06-15An authoritative resource consisting of tables of physical and chemical data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units etc.
The Merck Index by Call Number: REF RS51 .M4ISBN: 9781849736701Publication Date: 2013-04-30Contains articles for over 10,000 compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact. It covers their physical and chemical properties, citations about their synthesis, discussion on their therapeutic function and safety/hazardous information when applicable.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook by Call Number: REF TP151 .P45 2008; Also available onlineISBN: 9780071422949Publication Date: 2007-11-13Overviews all aspects of chemical engineering from fundamentals to computer applications.
- IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology - the Gold Book
Standardized terminology in Chemistry maintained by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) - Common ChemistryOpen database to find CAS registry number for ~7,900 common chemicals. Provided by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS).
Learn more: Finding Physical Properties of Chemicals: A Practical Guide for Scientists, Engineers, and Librarians Published in Science and Technology Libraries, V. 21, Numbers 3/4 2001 (published fall 2003), p. 27-45
Databases Indexing Properties and Spectra
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use CAS SciFinder-n in identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, molecular formula, chemical names, reaction components, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields.
Access Note: Database use is restricted to current Mines-affiliates only and requires an individual user account to access. First-time users must register for an account using your @mines.edu email. - SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.
- Knovel Materials Data Search
Drag and drop properties you'd like to explore into the search area. Some data can be explored by plots and exported.
- PubChem This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. It collects information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others. - ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. - NIST Chemistry WebBook This link opens in a new window
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
- NIST Data Gateway
Data and spectra measured or collected by the National Institute of Science and Technology under different projects. See a full list of databases available at https://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/gateway?dblist=0 .
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds This link opens in a new window
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes six different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.
Materials Safety Data Sheets (M)SDS
A Material Safety Data Sheet (SDS), is documentation that accompanies chemicals. It provides both chemists and emergency personnel with the procedures for handling or working with a particular substance. Check the sources listed below. SDS can also be available from the vendor from which you purchased the chemical. Please CRITICALLY EVALUATE the source of the SDS before you use it in your lab.
- Sigma-Aldrich Chemical Catalog
Online database of properties, spectra and SDS of chemicals sold by Aldrich, Sigma and related companies. Substance data may include IR, NMR, Raman spectra, melting points, etc. and literature references. Searchable by chemical structure, name, and formula. - SDS resources - compiled by ilpi.com
Online resources of SDS compiled by Interactive Learning Paradigms Incorporated, a consulting company.
Critical Tables and Thermodynamic Data
- DIPPR Project 801
2015 Edition of evaluated process design data of physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design. - International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council. 7 most important tables were made interactive. - Knovel Critical Tables
Interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. Several tables make use of the interactive Equation Plotter to plot thermodynamic properties as a function of temperature. - Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists
Interactive database for substances, materials and their physical, themophysical, themodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental properties. - Yaws' Handbook of Thermodynamic and Physical Properties of Chemical Compounds
Covers physical, thermodynamic, and transport property correlations for 5000 organic chemical compounds covering C1 to C70 organics. The data is provided in a tabular format with links to an interactive Equation Plotter Applet that graphically represents the temperature correlation relationships for 15 key properties.
NIST JANAF Thermochemical Tables by Call Number: Boettcher Room (Floor 2) QD511.8 .N57 1998ISBN: 1563968312Publication Date: 2000-04-04
Find more resources
- Properties Data for Chemicals & Materials (U Buffalo Libraries)A tool to browse reference books containing specific types of physical or chemical data for different types of substances.
- Chemical Information Sources/Physical Property SearchesAn overview of searching strategies for physical property data from experienced chemistry librarians.
- Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data - from Arizona State UniversityList of resources categorized by types of property data they contain.
- Find Spectra and Spectral Data (U Texas Libraries)List of resources categorized by different types of spectra they contain.