Selected Classic Papers in Chemistry
Journal Title Abbreviations
Journal title abbreviations can be difficult to decipher. To identify Chemistry journal title abbreviations:
- Chemical Abstracts Serials Source Index (CASSI) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CASSI is a search tool intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. This complimentary resource can be used to quickly and easily look up or confirm publication titles and abbreviations, as well as CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN codes.
- Web of Science - Journal Title AbbreviationsAbbreviations used for journal titles as cited works in Web of Science database.
Find Articles: Library Catalog Search
To start, use the Library Catalog to find articles for a broad understanding of your research topic. You can narrow your search results to just articles by using the Catalog's "facets" on screen left to select Resource Types / Articles
Please note: The Catalog doesn't include every chemistry research article available.
- Use the catalog for a broad search to get started.
- Use specialized databases such as SciFinder and Web of Science (see below) to run more specific and comprehensive searches on your topic.
Find e-Journals -- Use the Find e-Journal tool to search in the Catalog. When you find your journal, use Link to Full text online for access. We may have access to some journals on multiple platforms. Browsing journals in Find e-Journal will ensure you see all the access points we have for a journal.
Core Databases in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use CAS SciFinder-n in identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, molecular formula, chemical names, reaction components, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields.
Access Note: Database use is restricted to current Mines-affiliates only and requires an individual user account to access. First-time users must register for an account using your @mines.edu email. - Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. - SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life science, health and medicine, physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Organic Syntheses
A Publication of Reliable Methods
for the Preparation of Organic Compounds
Related & Multidisciplinary Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. It comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Core Electronic Journal Packages
Browse the major publishers' sites below for articles on a sub-discipline in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering.
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ACS Publications supports researchers through journals, eBooks, scientific programs, and a news magazine.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
Journals published by Royal Society of Chemistry--Mines' subscription includes 10 journals.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
From foundational science to new and novel research, discover our large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied.
- Springer Journals in Chemistry
Springer is one of the leading publishers for Chemistry and they currently provide over 170 journals related to Chemistry.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowWiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life science, health and medicine, physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- ACS Symposium Series (1974-2012)
e-Books published by American Chemical Society. Most of them are based on experts' presentations during themed symposiums of ACS National Meetings.
Find an Open Access Version of an Article
When you hit a journal article "paywall" (you don't subscribe, there's a fee, etc.), an Open Access version may be available as a publisher's PDF version, a preprint, or the peer-reviewed manuscript. Try:
- A Google search
- Use oaDOI.org if you have a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) to look for an open version.
- Ask a librarian for assistance.
- ChemRxivPreprint Server--These are preliminary reports that have NOT been peer reviewed.