Databases Indexing Substance Properties
- SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.
- Knovel Materials Data Search
Drag and drop properties you'd like to explore into the search area. Some data can be explored by plots and exported.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use CAS SciFinder-n in identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, molecular formula, chemical names, reaction components, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields.
Access Note: Database use is restricted to current Mines-affiliates only and requires an individual user account to access. First-time users must register for an account using your @mines.edu email. - PubChem This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. It collects information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others. - ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. - NIST Chemistry WebBook This link opens in a new window
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
- NIST Data Gateway
Data and spectra measured or collected by the National Institute of Science and Technology under different projects. See a full list of databases available at https://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/gateway?dblist=0 .
Nuclear Energy Data, Statistics, and Reports
Specialized Data Sources
- HEPData This link opens in a new window
High energy particle reaction database/repository co-hosted by UK Science & Technology Facilities Council, CERN, and Ip3 of Durham University. Originally known as the Durham HepData Project.
- Physical Reference Data - NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory
Multiple database from NIST labs; containing constants, spectroscopic, and other physical property and specialized physics research data.
- Materials Project This link opens in a new window
The Materials Project is a multi-institution, multi-national effort to compute the properties of all inorganic materials and provide the data and associated analysis algorithms for every materials researcher free of charge. The ultimate goal of the initiative is to drastically reduce the time needed to invent new materials by focusing costly and time-consuming experiments on compounds that show the most promise computationally.
Note: Register for free, full access to all the tools. - MatWeb: Material Property Data This link opens in a new window
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene, and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, super alloys, titanium, and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Bookmarklet
Safari, Chrome, Firefox
Drag the following link to your bookmarks toolbar: Mines LibProxy
Internet Explorer
Right-click this link: Mines LibProxy
Select the "Add to Favorites..." option. Your browser may warn you that the link may be unsafe, but this is okay, go ahead and add it.