Skip to main content

Arthur Lakes Library Full Calendar  

| Special Collections:
| Book and Brew:
Today's Hours Library:
Banner Image

Maps and Geospatial Information: Home

This is the guide to the Library's Map Collection, and information regarding Geospatial Information.

NEW & INTERESTING MAP THINGS

Come see our new display!

 

 

SANBORN MAPS OF GOLDEN (1886-1938)

The Library of Congress has recently scanned and mounted Sanborn maps of Golden.  8 sets are available -- 1886, 1890, 1895, 1900, 1906, 1911, 1919, 1938.  Sanborn was a fire insurance company that produced very detailed maps of cities in order to determine how much fire insurance should cost.  The company made maps for thousands of towns and cities throughout the the United States.  The maps show the dimensions on the buildings, note what the buildings are made of, the names of the companies that occupy the building, and often the owner's name.  The Sanborn maps are a historical treasure.  View with fascination!!! 

                   

1895 State School of Mines                                                                  1895 Golden Press Fire Brick Company "Ruins of fire Jany 1895"

 

 

*NEW and UPDATED*  
Discovery interface to National Forest Air Photos of Colorado

The Library has created a discovery interface website that allows you to locate air photos of Colorado via a map search. 
The Library has recently ADDED the National Forest Service's entire aerial photograph collection of Colorado.  The collection dates from the 1930s to the mid 2000s, and covers the National Forests and Grasslands of Colorado (Arapaho, Grand Mesa, Gunnison, Pike, Rio Grande, Roosevelt, Routt, San Isabel, San Juan, Uncompahgre, and White River National Forests, and Comanche, and Pawnee National Grasslands).  The early ones are in black & white, and the later ones are in color.    We added 108,641 photographs to the collection.

The photos sets have been added to the Library Catalog, and available for check out.
Find the photos that are in the Library's Catalog

 

Roaring Fork Valley southeast of Aspen, 1939                                    

Roaring Fork Valley southeast of Aspen, 1939                                      Big Thompson Valley, 1950

Google maps

What's this all about

This guide will introduce you to library resources regarding maps, and geospatial information, including GIS data.

Use the tabs above to navigate through the following pages of the guide:

  • Topographic maps -- resources for topographic maps (paper, scanned, digital)
  • Geologic maps -- resources for geologic maps (paper, scanned, digital)
  • Mining maps -- resources for mining maps (paper, scanned, digital)
  • Aerial photographs -- resources for aerial photographs (paper, scanned, digital)
  • Scanned maps -- links to important scanned map collections
  • Buy maps -- where to buy maps locally and online
  • Map organizations -- links to important map organizations, and map libraries throughout the world
  • GIS data -- digital data that maybe used in a Geographic Information Service (GIS)
  • Maps by U.S. government agencies -- links to a variety of websites that contain maps, and mapping data produced by various federal agencies
  • Map tools for librarians -- information about tools for librarians developed at the Arthur Lakes Library, and links to tools useful to other librarians
  • About the Map Collection -- fun facts about the Map Collection

Outreach, Instruction, and Geospatial Information Librarian