Book an Appointment
Mining Images
About the Mining History Archive
Telling the story of mining through technology, resources and people
The Russell L. & Lyn Wood Mining History Archive was established in 1995 through the generous donations of former Mines Board of Trustees member Russell L. Wood and his wife Lyn.
The Archive supports research on the history of mining, with emphasis on Colorado and the US West. We focus on the technology of mining and related industries, including mineral processing, transportation, safety, environmental impacts, and economic and cultural aspects of mining. The Archive Reading Room is available by appointment.
- Special Collections & ArchivesFor information on using the Collections, donating, Digital Archives and more.
Find Archive Materials
- Library Catalog - Colorado School of Mines This link opens in a new window
Search the library's catalog for physical and electronic resources to find books, articles, maps, videos, and more. - Mines Repository This link opens in a new window
The Mines Institutional Repository is a database designed to store, index, distribute, and preserve the scholarship of faculty, researchers, staff, and students of the School in digital form. It provides free, worldwide open access to scholarly and administrative works produced by or about the Colorado School of Mines.
Related Guides -- Mining
Managing Archival Materials on Mining
Discovery -- Creating metadata for mining, mineral industries and geoscience images. With thousands of images related to mining and mineral resources, we use local subject headings to improve discovery of the content and make it possible for users to group together activities and items specific to mining.
Collection Development Policy, Mining History Archive (including Digital Archives) [abridged] -- Provides an overview of collection scope and purpose for our historical mining materials, including those in the Digital Archive as a "collection within" our larger archive collections.