Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & Archives: Home

About Our Special Collections

Colorado School of Mines football team; 1897; group photograph

News--

Special Collections are now accessible, with some restrictions. Questions? Contact Ask a Librarian.

Thanks to:

  • Shannon Keohane, for historic postcards of Mines campus
  • Alex Parker, for mining photos of Clear Creek County, original maps, and brochures
  • Clifton W. Livingston Collection on blasting technologies, courtesy of the Mining Engineering Dept.
  • Curtis Tindall, miniature trophy cup, CSM Junior Prom 1916 (Beta Theta Pi insignia) owned by Jack Logan Tindall, Petroleum Engineer (P.E.) 1954. [See photos below.]

Miniature trophy, CSM Junior Prom 1916  

 

    

Digital Archives in Mountain Scholar

We tell the story of earth resources technologies and the Colorado School of Mines through original documents, unique reports, rare photos, maps and more--come explore!

Access & Policies

Special Collections & Archives resources are available to the public by appointment during business hours when the Library is open (see Library Calendar above). For your best research experience (and to help colored mine claim map, Perigo areapreserve and maintain our materials for your use):

  • Before you visit--
  • During your visit--You'll need:
    • Valid picture ID, pencils and paper--No pens, sticky notes, etc.
    • Personal bags, backpacks? Leave them in a designated area on request.
    • Complete a Visitor Form.
    • You may be asked to wash your hands before handle items.
    • Want a copy?burro race contestants
      • You're welcome to take photos.(Self-service photocopying or scanning are not permitted.)
      • Our For-Fee Digitization Service will make copies, and can provide estimates. Most requests are filled within 5 days. Duplication is subject to copyright restrictions and the item's physical condition.
  • After your visit--Do you plan to use, publish or post content from our Special Collections? Please:
    • Give us a shout-out! Spread the word to others who may be interested in our collections.
    • Attribute your source(s). Example: Abandoned mine, 1971. L.E. Leroy, photographer. Courtesy of the Russell L. & Lyn Wood Mining History Archive, Arthur Lakes Library, Colorado School of Mines.

Find Materials

In addition to the links on the Tabs (above):

Who Are Our Users?

Our special collections and archives support the research of a variety of users, including:

  • Mines Community--For research, course work, personal interest, outreach
  • Prospectors and exploration companies
  • Land use planners, environmental scientists and land owners
  • Industrial archeologists. For example, the Mining History Archive supports research for the Office of the State Archeologist of Colorado, and the National Register for Historic Places to register historic mine sites.
  • Educators
  • Local historians and genealogists
  • Legal representatives
  • Members of the public who are CURIOUS

Research Librarian; Special Collections Manager

Thanks, Student Employees!

Major project contributions, kudos to:

Billy Beasley - Ropeway Preprints

Kate Spencer - Prospector yearbook digitization

Sara Brown - Condor Earth Ledgers

Jessica Sigler - Hanson Uranium Collection

Billy Beasley - Working model of a gondola

A.V. Schilt - CSM Newspaper Clippings

BethAnne Bauch - Snow Map Collection

Huiru Li - Research, Chinese students at Mines

BethAnne Bauch - Photo metadata migration

Our Stories

Miners loaded on included set of man cars

Ask A Librarianh