Special Collections & Archives

# 4.  Your closet (or garage) is full.

# 3.  Your donation is tax deductible.

# 2. Other people should SEE what you have.

And the # 1 Reason...

# 1. You help us keep history alive.

The time is right when you value your stuff but don't use it; when you're ready to share with others; if you're concerned about preservation; or if you're looking at a life change (relocation, retirement, etc.) that impacts your records and memorabilia.

Funding Opportunities

• Collections -- Help us purchase rare/unique books, maps, and more
• Projects with impact--Digitization; partnerships; preservation; outreach programs
• Endowments--Create a lasting fund to support collections, accessibility and discovery for users
• Digital Archives/Research Center--Support a virtual or physical space for visitors and scholars to use our unique materials

Contact Lisa Dunn, Interim University Librarian and Head of Special Collections & Archives, for more information about giving.

In-Kind Gifts

Want your items to reach a global audience? We're looking for personal and professional experiences, reports, correspondence, maps, photos, etc. in:

• Mining, earth resources, and related industries 
• Colorado School of Mines history
• Oil shale development and impacts
• Ropeways and transportation by rope (materials tramways, ski lifts, urban gondolas, etc.)

Digital donations--Have your stuff and share it too! Contact us about donating your digital photos or videos.

Our Wish List for specific titles:

• An original copy of CSM's FIRST thesis: Wiley, Walter H. 1883. "Report upon the Utopia Mine, Ophir, Ouray Company, Colo."
• Annual Report of the State Inspector of Coal Mines of the State of Colorado, 1884, 1947-49, 1960.
• Annual research report on Photo- and Engineering Geology Along Interstate Highway 70, Eagle County, Colorado, Colorado School of Mines Foundation, for the Colorado Department of Highways and the U.S. Department of Commerce, 1965, Part 2.
• Coal [journal], 1893-94.
• Colorado Mining Association Handbook, 1982.
• Mines and Miners of Cornwall, Hamilton Jenkin, 1961, Volumes 7-9.
• Mining district laws/articles of incorporation (any).
• Mining Year Book, 1938, 1961-68, 1973.
• Official Manual of the Cripple Creek District, Colorado, U.S.A., 1900 [Need the accompanying map of the district.]
• Oil Shale: The environmental challenges II. Proceedings of an international symposium, August 10-13, 1981, Vail, Colorado, Kathy Kellogg Petersen, ed. Sponsored by the Oil Shale Task Force through the U.S. DOE, Volume 1.
• Organic Remains of a Former World: An Examination of the mineralized remains of the vegetables and animals of the antediluvian world, generally termed extraneous fossils, James Parkinson, 1804-11, Volume 1.
• Philippine Mining Yearbook. [We have 1939-40, need other years.]
• System of Mineralogy, Robert Jameson, 1816, Volume 2.
• Textbook on Mining Engineering, International Correspondence Schools, Scranton PA, 1900, Volumes 4, 6-7.
• Traite de Mineralogy, par le Cen. Hauy; publie par le Conseil des mines, 1801, Volume 2.
• Treatise on Metal Mining. Prepared for students of the International Correspondence Schools, Scranton PA, 1899, Volumes 2, 5.