Book an Appointment
Supporters
Members of OITAF-NACS (International Organization for Transportation by Rope--North American Continental Section), for gifting funds to endow the Center (2005)
OITAF-NACS, for increasing the Center's endowment for a stable future (2006)
AWRF (Associated Wire Rope Fabricators), for their gift of a significant collection of manufacturers' catalogs on wire rope fittings (2007)
Professional Organizations
OITAF (International Organization for Transportation by Rope)
OITAF-NACS (North American Continent Section)
AWRF (Associated Wire Rope Fabricators)
In the Ropeway Center
About the Information Center
The Information Center for Ropeway Studies is the largest special collection on the history, theory, design and operation of wire rope systems in the US. The Center was established in 1991 to support research on ropeway technology; it is guided by an Advisory Board of industry members.
Our focus:
- Materials transport
- Ski lifts and conveyances; passenger tramways, lifts, and transportation by ropeways
- Technologies and materials for ropeways
- Mines Newsroom, April 26 2021Student employee Billy Beasley, Class of 2021
- Special Collections & ArchivesFor information on using the Collections, donating, Digital Archives and more.
Find Information on Ropeways
- Ropeway Database This link opens in a new window
The Information Center for Ropeway Studies (Ropeway Center) provides access to a comprehensive collection on information relative to the history, theory, design, and operation of ropeway systems including recreational and materials ropeways. - Mines Repository This link opens in a new window
The Mines Institutional Repository is a database designed to store, index, distribute, and preserve the scholarship of faculty, researchers, staff, and students of the School in digital form. It provides free, worldwide open access to scholarly and administrative works produced by or about the Colorado School of Mines. - Library Catalog - Colorado School of Mines This link opens in a new windowSearch the library's catalog for physical and electronic resources to find books, articles, maps, videos, and more.
