The Collection (1939-1996) focuses on the working papers of Charles F. Dwyer. It includes documents, correspondence, reports and records of field work, but also photographs and notes. (Dwyer also donated many of the publications that were the foundation of the Ropeway Center in its inception; these can be found in the Library catalog.) Dwyer was a leading figure in the development of the ropeway industry in Colorado ski areas. The Collection also includes scattered materials on other ski areas in the US and internationally.
Noted in the Collection:
Charles Dwyer, Encampment Museum, Wyoming, 1977. Charles F. Dwyer Collection R001, Photograph R-2324.
Beaver Creek Resort
Bennet (Loveland Ski Basin)
Berthoud Pass Winter Sports Area
Breckenridge Ski Area
Crested Butte Winter Sports Area; Carlevaro-Savio gondola
Eldora (Lake Eldora)
Emerald Mountain (Steamboat Springs)
Estes Park Tramway
Georgetown, Silver Plume Historic District
Gunnison, Pioneer Ski Area, Cement Creek
Little Annie Ski Corporation (addition to Aspen Mountain)
Loveland Valley and Basin
Sunshine Peak aerial tramway
Vail Ski Area
Alaska -- Eaglecrest Ski Area
California -- Squaw Valley; Palm Springs areal tramway; Mt Shasta lifts; Yosemite
Idaho -- Lookout Pass Ski Area, Wallace
Oregon -- Mt. Hood (Timberline ski lft). Includes Mt. Hood's flying bus
Virginia -- Includes Fort Eustis aerial tramway
Utah -- Snowbird
Wyoming -- Jackson Hole aerial tramway; Grand Encampment materials tramway; Teton Village
Austria -- Seefeld Tyrol
Canada, British Columbia -- Hell's Gate tram; Whistler Mountain
France -- Arguille du Midi
Switzerland -- Braunwald; Mont Pelerin funicular
Box 1 -- Miscellaneous organization materials; newspaper clippings and notes. Includes:
Box 2 -- Ski areas, Colorado (1941-2005), miscellaneous documents, reports, newspaper clippings and promotional materials, organized by ski area.
Box 3 -- Ski areas, Colorado (cont.); and papers related to operations (1951-2005) of:
Box 4 -- Correspondence, notes and documents related to operations (1972-1992) of:
Box 5 -- Correspondence, notes and documents related to operations of the Internationale Tagung der Technischen Seilbahnaufsichtsbehorden (ITTAB) (1990-1994)
Box 6 -- Newspaper clippings, histories, notes and other materials on ski lift installations (various) in Colorado (1902, 1947-1990).
Box 7 -- Technical information, specifications on historical lift installations; with scattered brochures, miscellaneous materials:
Box 8 -- Technical information, specifications on historical lift installations in the US; miscellaneous and historical materials on US and international ropeway sites; and accident files; with some photocopies (1938-1996):
Box 9 -- Accident-related materials: Newspaper clippings, photographs, reports and notes on accidents in Colorado, Idaho, Oregon, and Wyoming. Includes materials related to the Vail Aerian Tramway & Ski Safety Seminars (1981-1986).