Trails Illustrated/National Geographic Maps
Trailblazing Gift Transforms Map Collection at Arthur Lakes Library
Explore the World with the Trails Illustrated/National Geographic Maps Collection!
The Arthur Lakes Library at Colorado School of Mines is thrilled to announce a landmark acquisition: the Trails Illustrated/National Geographic Maps Collection. This transformative gift adds over 1,000 maps and 150 books and atlases to our Library.
This extraordinary donation—valued at more than $20,000—features a rich array of hiking and outdoor recreation maps, with a primary focus on the United States and select international destinations. As of October 1, 2025, 857 maps have been cataloged, including 270 produced by Trails Illustrated/National Geographic. The addition of this material gives the Colorado School of Mines one of the most comprehensive hiking map collections in the world!
The gift was made possible through a collaboration between Chris Thiry, Map & GIS Librarian, and David Lambert, Head Cartographer at Trails Illustrated. Following the closure of Trails Illustrated’s Evergreen, Colorado office, the Library received not only the company’s reference library but also nearly every recent map produced by the division—filling two cars with cartographic treasures.
All materials are being cataloged to the highest standards and are fully discoverable through the Library’s catalog. Maps and atlases are available for checkout, supporting both academic research and outdoor exploration.
Whether you're planning your next adventure or conducting research, this collection invites you to explore deeper, hike or bike farther, and discover more.
From Bedrock to Summit: Explore the World's Trails at the Mines Library!!!
Leadville maps
Lost to History. Found at Mines.
Unearthing History: Arthur Lakes Library Acquires Legendary Leadville Mining Maps
The Map Collection at the Arthur Lakes Library, Colorado School of Mines, is thrilled to announce a truly historic acquisition: 1,200 original mining maps of Leadville, Colorado, dating back to the late 1800s. Long thought to be lost to history, these hand-drawn maps—created by miners over 125 years ago—offer an unprecedented glimpse into Colorado’s rich mining heritage.
Valued at over $200,000, this extraordinary gift was donated by Harry Lenhard, a retired miner and passionate steward of mining history. The maps are utterly unique, containing detailed information that was believed to be gone forever. Their arrival marks a monumental moment for researchers, historians, and future mining planners alike.
The journey to making these maps available to the public will be a meticulous one. Many of the maps are currently in poor condition, with some suffering from mold damage. Each map must be carefully deodorized, cleaned, and repaired. This monumental task will be supervised by Sherry Muniz, the Library’s Preservation Technician, whose 20+ years of experience will guide the delicate process. Following preservation, Map & GIS Librarian Chris Thiry, the Map & GIS Librarian, will organize and catalog the collection. Due to the scale and condition of the materials, it will take several years to add all the maps to the Library's catalog.
This amazing gift further cements the Arthur Lakes Library as home to one of the best and most significant mine map collections in the world.
More Precious Than Gold: A Cartographic Treasure
