New Databases in FY19
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Now with unlimited access. Previously limited to one concurrent user. - American Historical Periodicals: Series 1-5 (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Historical Periodicals offers a documentary history of the American people from the Colonial Era into the twentieth century, presenting North American thought, culture, and society through a variety of perspectives. - Archives of Sexuality & Gender (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. - Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Search for biographies based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, or other keywords. - Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This index contains citations that point to over 20 million biographies on nearly 6 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. - Book Review Index (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
An online guide to book reviews that includes 5.6 million review citations from thousands of publications, with links to thousands of full-text reviews. - ChiltonLibrary This link opens in a new window
This continually updated resource provides: maintenance, repair, and technical service bulletins for most years, makes and models of automobiles. - College (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The publisher merges reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites. - Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Features current full text and pertinent backfile coverage of topics relevant to women around the world, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship. - Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. - Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The analysis of engineering failures is an essential part of many engineering curricula today. This focus enables engineers and scholars to learn what not to do and how to create designs with a greater chance of success. Over 80 cases are currently covered in the system, including the Chernobyl disaster, the Space Shuttle Challenger disaster, the Tacoma Narrows Bridge collapse, and many more. - Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database uses text, archival primary sources, and video to address major past and ongoing environmental issues—water challenges, air pollution, biodiversity, climate change, energy issues, consumption and waste issues, and land issues—in comparative, historical, global, and interdisciplinary ways. - Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. - Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation. - JoVE: Journal of Visual Experiments This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Two new sections added: Science Education: Chemistry (General Chemistry & Analytical Chemistry) - Knovel This link opens in a new window
11 new subject collections: Composites, Computer Hardware Engineering, Engineering Management & Leadership, General Engineering & Project Administration, Industrial Engineering & Operations Management, Manufacturing Engineering, Marine Engineering & Naval Architecture, Metals & Metallurgy, Pharmaceuticals Cosmetics & Toiletries, Process Design Control & Automation, Textiles, Transportation Engineering - Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. - LitFinder (Gale) This link opens in a new window
LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, plays, as well as secondary materials like biographies, images, and more. - Making of the Modern World (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database is for research into the history of the dynamics of Western trade, including the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking, and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. - MyHeritage Library Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Internationally diverse genealogy databases containing billions of historical records from all over the world to support family history research. - Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925 Part I & II This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Science, Technology and Medicine, Part II expands upon the subject coverage in Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925, with an extraordinary gathering of European and British periodicals and American monographs from renowned sources. - Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana, this cross-curricular resource helps inform learners of differing views, develops critical-thinking skills, and draws their own conclusions. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. - Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Science provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. It showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.
- Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-current) The Index now has an additional 79 years of coverage! - Women's Studies Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles, and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights, focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women and other gender issues throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. - Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, providing research across the humanities both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period.
New Online Journal Access for FY 19
- Angewandte Chemie: International Edition in EnglishPerpetual access journal backfile purchase for 1962-1997
- Biotechnology & BioengineeringPerpetual access journal backfile purchase for 1959-1996
- Canadian Journal of Chemical EngineeringPerpetual access journal backfile purchase for 1958-1996
- Journal of Applied Polymer SciencePerpetual access journal backfile purchase for 1959-1996
- Nature EnergyAvailable from 2016 volume: 1 issue: 1
- Nature NanotechnolgyAvailable from 2015 volume: 10 issue: 1
- Physica Status Solidi (A) Applications & Materials SciencePerpetual access journal backfile purchase for 1970-1995
- Physica Status Solidi (B) Basic Solid State PhysicsPerpetual access journal backfile purchase for 1961-1995
New Online Reference Titles for FY 19
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by ISBN: 9780471238966Publication Date: 2001presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry by ISBN: 9783527306732Publication Date: 2003is the benchmark reference in chemistry and chemical and life science engineering, covering inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and much more.
World Scientific Reference on Innovation, the (in 4 Volumes) by Publication Date: 2018Volume 1 provides extensive global evidence on university technology transfer and innovation partnerships. Volume 2 is focused on the managerial and public policy implications of the globalization of R&D. Volume 3 presents state-of-the-art theoretical and empirical evidence on open innovation. Volume 4 is a comprehensive analysis of cybersecurity. This set is essential reading for those who wish to have a comprehensive understanding of the antecedents and consequences of innovation.
Mental Health eBook Collection
Anxiety and Panic Attacks by ISBN: 9781440852985Publication Date: 2018-04-19This book tackles readers' questions regarding anxiety and panic attacks, dispelling misconceptions and examining real-world scenarios that highlight important concepts and controversies.
Crazy-Stressed by
VOYA Voice of Youth Advocates: Essential Books for Professionals Who Serve Teens A little resilience goes a long way.... Peel back the cheerful facade that parents present, and you'll find that many are worried about their teens. Mood swings, impulsiveness, poor judgment, and other problems peak in these years. Add stressors such as screen addiction, cyberbullying, increasing academic demands, and time-consuming athletic commitments . . . and it's no surprise that today's teenagers rank as the most anxious in 50 years. Parents long to help, but how? Based on a career counseling kids and their parents, psychologist Michael Bradley locates the most powerful protective trait: resilience. Teens with this crucial quality know how to handle difficulty, overcome obstacles, and bounce back from setbacks. Packed with insights from neuroscience and psychology, real-life case studies, and a dose of humor, Crazy-Stressed sheds light on the teen brain and offers a wealth of resiliency-boosting strategies. In it, Dr. Bradley reveals: What kids these days are really going through * Ways to strengthen the seven skills every teen needs to survive and thrive * What-to-do-when suggestions for common behavior, school, and social issues * Tactics for coping with conflict, teaching consequences, improving communication, staying connected, and more It's not easy being a teen-and it's certainly not easy parenting one. Always frank and often funny, Crazy-Stressed will become your go-to guide . . . and your kids may even thank you for it.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780814438053Publication Date: 2017
Deconstructing Stigma in Mental Health by ISBN: 9781522538080Publication Date: 2018-05-11Deconstructing Stigma in Mental Health provides emerging research on issues related to stigma as a whole including ignorance, prejudice, and discrimination. While highlighting issues such as stigma and its role in mental health and how stigma is perpetuated in society, this publication explores the historical context of stigma, current issues and resolutions through intersectional collaboration, and the deconstruction of mental health stigmas.Eating Disorders: Understanding Causes, Controversies, and Treatment [2 Volumes] by This encyclopedia offers a variety of resources for readers interested in learning more about eating disorders, including hundreds of reference entries, interviews, scholarly debates, and case studies. * Reflects recent changes in approaches to eating disorders brought about by the publication of the latest edition of the DSM * Explores key issues related to eating disorders and models critical thinking and argument construction in the Controversies and Debates section * Offers insights from a variety of perspectives expounded upon in interviews with scholars, eating disorder professionals, patients, and family members * Gives readers a "real world" look at the many ways eating disorders can manifest and progress in the Case Illustrations section
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440853012Publication Date: 2018Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 4th Edition by The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 4th edition, presents authoritative, comprehensive information on more than 200 mental disorders as well as drugs, treatments and therapies, alternative treatments, diagnostic and evaluation procedures, and related biological concepts totaling 530 articles. Written in language accessible to adult laypersons, it aims to fill the gap between basic consumer resources and highly technical professional materials, such as the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781410388223Publication Date: 2019
Hanging Out by ISBN: 9781440843921Publication Date: 2017-12-01"Hanging out" may be something most people don't ponder, but socializing across our lifetimes is a key part of the human experience, and it plays an important role in our lives at the individual level as well as in social interactions within larger numbers of people: groups of friends, communities, entire countries or cultures, and even global society.
Latina/o American Health and Mental Health: Practices and Challenges by
Essential reading for health and mental health administrators, community agencies, and policy makers as well as students and general interest readers, this book details the state of the physical and mental health of many Latina/o American groups. * Examines the prevalence of psychological disorders and chronic physical diseases among various Latina/o groups in the U.S. * Reviews culture-specific treatments and community efforts to improve mental health * Discusses spiritual and indigenous practices such as Curanderismo, Santeria, and Espiritismo and their applications to health and mental health * Provides recommendations for eliminating barriers to health and mental health care for individuals belonging to Latina/o groups
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440854903Publication Date: 2018
LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances by
This cutting-edge guide spotlights some of the most exciting emerging discoveries, trends, and research areas in LGBT psychology, both in science and therapy. * Presents a concise history of LGBT psychology as well as coverage of current LGBT psychology in various subfields, including social, developmental, psychoanalytical, minority psychology, and women's psychology * Addresses issues in the LGBT community ranging from health disparities (physical, biological, and psychological illnesses that disproportionately affect the LGBT community) to addictions and substance abuse, stressors, and emerging policy issues * Includes contributors who are well-known trailblazers and noted experts in the field
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440843389Publication Date: 2017
Mental Health and Mental Disorders: an Encyclopedia of Conditions, Treatments, and Well-Being [3 Volumes] by
Serving as an indispensable resource for students and general-interest readers alike, this three-volume work provides a comprehensive view of mental health that covers both mental well-being and mental illness. * Provides exhaustive content that affords readers a holistic understanding of mental health and mental disorders * Features extensive cross-referencing that allows readers to easily see connections and relationships between different entries * Offers end-of-entry further readings that serve as a gateway to additional information for study * Reflects on common perceptions and portrayals of mental health through a variety of pop culture-oriented entries that focus on subjects such as television shows and movies
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440803833Publication Date: 2015-12-14
Mindfulness and Meditation: Your Questions Answered by
This book serves as an approachable introduction to the topics of mindfulness and meditation, especially as they relate to teens and young adults. The information, guidance, and resources it offers make it a valuable tool for anyone curious about this enduring and trending topic. * Makes the subject accessible to readers by means of a simple Q&Amp;A format * Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section * Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies * Dispels popular misconceptions in a Common Myths section and directs readers towards accurate information * Points readers towards additional books, organizations, and websites for further study and research in an annotated directory of resources
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440852978Publication Date: 2018
Nutrition and Mental Health by ISBN: 9781439863367Publication Date: 2013-01-29This book provides a report of broadly selected scientific research on how various nutrients affect mental health.
Raising Mental Health Awareness in Higher Education by ISBN: 9781522537939Publication Date: 2017-11-24Raising Mental Health Awareness in Higher Education: Emerging Research and Opportunities describes the current state of college students' mental health in the United States, influences that contribute to wavering mental health, factors that promote flourishing mental health, and interventions that support mental health.
The Secrets of College Success by
Heading off to college? Or perhaps already there? This book's just for you. Winner of the 2010 USA Book News Award for best book in the college category, The Secrets of College Success combines easy-to-follow tips that really work with insider information that few professors are willing to reveal. The over 800 tips in this book will show you how to: Pick courses and choose a major Manage your time and develop college-level study skills Get on top of the core requirements Get good grades and avoid stress Interact effectively with the professor Match college and career, and more. New to this second edition are tips for: Online courses and MOOCs Community Colleges, Engineering Schools, and Arts and Design Colleges E-readers, tablets, and laptops Taking out Student Loans and Paying them Off, and more. Ideal for college students at any stage, and college-bound high school students, The Secrets of College Success makes a wonderful back-to-college or high-school-graduation gift - or a smart investment in your own future.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118575154Publication Date: 2013
Self-Injury: Your Questions Answered by
This book provides an approachable introduction to the topic of self-injury, especially as it relates to teens and young adults. The information, guidance, and resources it offers make it a valuable tool for anyone whose life has been impacted by self-injury. * Makes the subject accessible to readers by means of a simple Q&A format * Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section * Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies * Dispels popular misconceptions in a Common Myths section and directs readers towards accurate information * Points readers towards additional books, organizations, and websites for further study and research in an annotated directory of resources
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440854453Publication Date: 2018
Suicide and Mental Health by ISBN: 9781610695831Publication Date: 2014-10-14Written primarily for high school and college students as well as for their teachers and parents, this guide combines relevant research and theories about suicide with current clinical thinking and approaches to diagnosis and treatment.
