Library Guides: Library Collection Budget: FY24 Collection Updates

FY24 Collection Updates

Fiscal Year July 1, 2023-June 30, 2024 (FY24) is in progress. Below are the most notable changes to our collection. Check back for the latest updates. If you're curious about a particular title that hasn't been listed here search our library catalog or view our Database A-Z List.

The Arthur Lakes Library's Collection Budget for FY24 is $2,281,093. These funds are used to purchase print materials (books, maps, journals, etc.), electronic purchases (ejournals, ebooks, etc.), as well as pay for subscriptions (databases, standards, streaming videos, etc.).

Check out the changes from FY23 that you may have missed.

New & Updated Resources for FY24

Wall Street Journal (registration link) This link opens in a new window
Registered your @mines.edu email for WSJ access using this link. Once registered, you will have access to wsj.com articles from 1997 to present as well as their apps (Apple Store and Google Play Store).
You call 1-800-JOURNAL (1-800-568-7625) to switch from your paid subscription to the membership through Mines. You'll be refunded the remaining balance of your subscription.
Exploring Race in Society (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports, and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide a critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness.
Elicit: The AI Research Assistant This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Analyze research papers at superhuman speed with artificial intelligence (AI). Automate time-consuming research tasks like summarizing papers, extracting data, and synthesizing your findings. Limited free access.
IET Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Institution of Engineering and Technology is a multidisciplinary professional engineering institution. Access to all journal articles from 1872-2012 as well as open access content.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus is a repository of technical content published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) including select SAE standards, technical papers, journals, and magazines. Note: our subscription does not include ebooks.
ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISO standards have been added as a trial as we pay per standard used. Access to be evaluated from January through June of 2024.
Access to standards includes:
ASTM active standards, historical standards, research reports, and related materials
AATCC (American Association of Textile Chemists & Colorists)
AASHTO (American Assn of State & Highway Transportation Officials)
API (American Petroleum Institute)
AWS (American Welding Society)
AWWA (American Water Works Association)
IES (Illuminating Engineering Society)
ISO (International Organization for Standardization)
EN/European ISO-adopted Standards
Taylor & Francis (ebooks) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
2 ebook collections purchased in FY24 = Energy Economics (136 titles) + Environmental Humanities (181 titles)
Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Added Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) --- 1977-present
Access Includes:
1. Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-E) --- 1900-present
2. Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) --- 1977-present
3. Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) --- 1990-present

New Journals

The following journals are being added and should be made available in January or February 2024:

Bloomberg Businessweek Archive (coverage years: 1929-2010)
Bulletin of the Chemical Society of Japan (ISSN: 1348-0634)
Maclean's Magazine Archive (coverage years: 1911-2015) along with prior titles:
- The Busy man's magazine (coverage years: 1905-1911)
- Business Magazine (coverage years: 1905-1905)
Magazine of Concrete Research (ISSN: 1751-763X)
Radiochimica Acta (ISSN: 2193-3405)
Rapid Prototyping Journal (ISSN: 1758-7670)
Review of Environmental Economics and Policy (ISSN: 1750-6824)
Time Magazine Archive (coverage years: 1923-2000)

Cancellations for FY24

Journals/Serials

Titles and reasons for cancellations:

Der Anschnitt (ISSN: 0003-5238) --- moving to online individual-only subscriptions (not campus-wide)
American Journal of Science (ISSN: 0002-9599) --- content is open access
American Scientist (ISSN: 0003-0996) --- canceling print, online access still available
Chronicle of Higher Education (ISSN : 0009-5982) --- canceling print, online access still available
The Economist (ISSN: 0013-0613) --- canceling print, online access still available
Human Rights Quarterly (ISSN: 1085-794X) --- low usage
Hydrocarbon Processing (ISSN: 0887-0284) --- moving to online individual-only subscriptions (not campus-wide)
IMA Journal of Numerical Analysis (ISSN: 1464-3642) --- low usage
Journal of Mine Ventilation Society of South Africa (ISSN: 0368-3206) --- title ceased
Middle East Journal (ISSN: 1940-3461) --- low usage
Oil & Gas Directory --- title suspended
Organization Science (ISSN: 1526-5455) --- low usage
Petroleum Economist (ISSN: 0306-395X) --- on-going access issues with direct publisher platform
Pipeline & Gas Journal (ISSN: 0032-0188) --- available in database subscriptions
Science (ISSN: 0036-8075) --- canceling print, online access still available