Teaching & Learning Librarian
In This Guide
You will need to use books, articles and other library resources
as you work on research projects in this discipline. This guide can help you find and evaluate information from the library and beyond. Use the tabs to navigate through the guide. Don't hesitate to reach out for help if you have questions or encounter any issues using the resources.
Related Guides:
Image Credit: Views from the Mile High By Matt Santomaraco. Used Under CC BY-NC 2.0
Core Electronic Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. - Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology, and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Access includes Company Database. - Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new window
The Bureau of Economic Analysis provides economic accounts for national, industry, international, and regional data. These accounts are critical for monetary, fiscal, and public policy and business investment decisions. - Business & Management Collection (HSTalks) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of online multi-media video lectures and case studies by leading experts. Topics include marketing, management, finance, accounting, strategy, and more. - Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography. - Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
Tips When Researching a Company
When researching a company, it is important to know whether the company is public (traded on the stock exchange), private, or a subsidiary or division of a larger company.
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission requires all public companies whose stock is traded on an American exchange (except foreign companies and companies with less than $10 million in assets and 500 shareholders) to file numerous reports electronically through the EDGAR database.
Unless they are publicly traded, subsidiaries and divisions of larger companies are not required to release annual reports or financial information. Sometimes this information can be found in the parent company's annual report.
It is important to balance information that companies release about themselves with information from other sources, such as information found in articles and newspaper reports (See the Library's List of Business and Economics Databases).