Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The articles found in many scholarly journals go through a "peer-review" process. In other words, the articles are checked by academics and other experts. The information is therefore reliable. As well as containing scholarly information, journal articles can include reports and/or reviews of current research and topic-specific information.
Use scholarly journals when you need original research on a topic; articles and essays written by scholars or subject experts; factual documented information to reinforce a position; or references lists that point you to other relevant research. Scholarly journals take less time to publish than books, but the peer-review process can be lengthy.
Popular articles found in magazines are often written by journalist or professional writers for a general audience. They tend to be shorter than scholarly journal articles and rarely give full citations for sources. Popular articles from magazines are helpful if you want background on a topic that is new to you or very current information.
Related Guide: Find Articles
Core Electronic Resources
Business (Gale OneFile)
Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Coverage: updated daily
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.
Business Insights: Global
A unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Serves as a leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Data included is the Decennial Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, Census of Governments, American Community Survey, and Economic Indicators.
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile)
Features current full text and pertinent backfile coverage of topics relevant to women around the world, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
JSTOR: Arts and Sciences Collections I-III
Full-text digital archive of over 700 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.
Regional Business News
This resource provides coverage for full-text business publications on a regional level for the United States and Canadian provinces. Key resources include newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires, with full-text content coverage.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile)
This provides access to academic journals and magazines that are useful for both business school students and entrepreneurs. The database offers content that includes insights, tips, strategies, and success stories.
Related & Multidisciplinary Resources
This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
County Business Patterns
Covers U.S. Economic Census data at the county level for agricultural services, mining, construction, manufacturing, transportation, public utilities, wholesale & retail trade, finance, insurance, real estate, and services.
Gale Power Search
Search all of our subscribed Gale databases at the same time.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)
Access to topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. It offers current and relevant content on both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
News (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile)
Addresses concerns over the protection of assets, physical or intellectual, ranging from the individual property owner to multinational corporations.
Materials Science and Engineering Database
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the METADEX and Polymer Library databases with selected full-text titles. This database includes specialized, abstracted and indexed resources of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
The database includes information about all US patents (including utility, design, reissue, plant patents, and Statutory Invention Registration (SIR) documents) from the first patent issued in 1790 to the most recent ones issued this week.
Where Is It?
|A - Neural Computation
||1M Floor (Mezzanine)
|Neural Networks - Z
|New Journals Display
Google Scholar Search
Note: To Identify Yourself as Colorado School of Mines User:
- go to Settings at the the top of the Google Scholar search screen
- select Library links
- Search for "Colorado School of Mines" and click Save.
Off Campus? Access Is Easy!