Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Electronic Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research.
BEA: Economic Accounts
The Bureau of Economic Analysis provides economic accounts for national, industry, international and regional data. These accounts are critical for monetary, fiscal, and public policy and business investment decision.
Business & Management Collection (HSTalks)
Collection of over 1,100 online multi-media video lectures and case studies by leading experts. Topics include marketing, management, finance, accounting, strategy and more.
Business (Gale OneFile)
Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Coverage: updated daily
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.
Business Insights: Global
A unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Mintel Academic Reports
Mintel Reports contains a comprehensive overview of the market size, including a five year forecast, brand share, category trends, consumer attitudes and behaviors, and analysis on what’s working, what’s not working, and what’s coming next. Mintel publishes over 220 reports in the US every year, across a wide range of consumer markets. People can dive into specific consumer survey questions to identify key demographics or target markets and build custom presentations and reports.
Tips When Researching a Company
When researching a company, it is important to know whether the company is public (traded on the stock exchange), private, or a subsidiary or division of a larger company.
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission requires all public companies whose stock is traded on an American exchange (except foreign companies and companies with less than $10 million in assets and 500 shareholders) to file numerous reports electronically through the EDGAR database.
Unless they are publicly traded, subsidiaries and divisions of larger companies are not required to release annual reports or financial information. Sometimes this information can be found in the parent company's annual report.
It is important to balance information that companies release about themselves with information from other sources, such as information found in articles and newspaper reports (See the Library's List of Business and Economics Databases).
Electronic Resources and Collection Assessment Librarian
Off Campus? Access Is Easy!