It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business and Economics: Reference Works
This guide will help you begin your research in Business and Economics through the library's collections and beyond.
Reference works are an excellent first stop in your research and are incredibly useful for the following:
Getting an overview of a topic
Getting topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
Learning the key works on a given topic
Discovering the key authors on a given topic
Reference works are a good starting off point, but should not be cited in your research as they are not considered primary or secondary sources. The only exception is when reference works contain primary and secondary sources (like collections of documents and essays).
Books24x7® provides leading on demand business, technical and engineering content containing thousands of digitized "best in class" ebooks, book summaries, research reports and best practices. Mines MultiPass required for use.
Note: Titles and chapters are currently not available for download due to publisher copyright restrictions. * Subscription will no longer be available after June 29, 2021*
Information on using this resource with a screen reader: https://documentation.skillsoft.com/bkb/qrc/AssistiveQRC.pdf
An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation.
This database contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, which is a respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide excellent background/overview information, providing an excellent way to begin research. Many provide bibliographies for further reading. Mostly located in the second-floor reference collection from approximately HA-HJs, here's a sampling of resources available: