Need a Tool?
Off Campus? Access Is Easy!
Start from the Library Website, just find what you want and log in with your Mines credentials when prompted. Learn more on our off campus access guide.
In This Guide
Mining Engineering is an engineering discipline that applies science and technology to the extraction of minerals from the earth. Mining engineering is associated with many other disciplines, such as geology, mineral processing, and metallurgy, geotechnical engineering and surveying.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the following pages of the guide:
- Find Articles - search for articles online and in print. Recommends resources for finding mining engineering articles.
- Find Books -find print and eBooks
- Reference Works -background information, key concepts, and definitions
- Organizations & Web Sources - find professional organizations, scholarly societies and other quality web resources
- Evaluating Sources -find information on finding authoritative sources
- Citing Sources - find information on citation formats, citation management tools and more.
Image Credit: Cresson Pit and Waste Pile by Kelly Michals. Used under CC BY-NC 2.0.
Core Electronic Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research.
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Library provides access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It provides access to full-text papers from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, ebooks, and standards. - Colorado Mining Index This link opens in a new window
The Colorado Mining Index is a part of the Russell L. & Lyn Wood Mining History Archive, which supports research on the history of mining. - EMI Rock Mechanics Database This link opens in a new window
The EMI Rock Mechanics Database plot tool was designed to facilitate the
retrieval, analysis, and inference of specific rock mechanics data. This tool is designed to allow the user to plot two of these test results against each other for a given rock characteristic, and from there build a statistical model describing the relationship. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases. - OneMine This link opens in a new window
OneMine includes a broad selection of the full-texts of articles and peer-reviewed journals to support undergraduate or advanced studies in mining and minerals, and for organizations engaged in research and development. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
From foundational science to new and novel research, discover our large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied.
Streaming Video Collections
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as: The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO, California Newsreel, and more. Their website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.
- Fossil Fuels: Coal, Oil, and Natural GasEveryday Engineering: Understanding the Marvels of Daily Life
EPISODE 10: Fossil Fuels: Coal, Oil, and Natural Gas
Coal, oil, and natural gas power the vast majority of electrical generating plants in use today. Learn how fossil fuels are extracted from the earth and how new technologies such as longwall mining and fracking have revolutionized the industry. Also examine some of the environmental drawbacks of these endeavors. - The Green Economy: Sustainable MiningThe history of Butte Montana is forged in the not so environmentally friendly practices of the Copper Kings of the early 20th Century. Now the city leaders and residents are pushing to clean up the sins of the past and also educate those who wish to get into the field of Mine Reclamation at Montana Technical Institute.