Why Articles?
The articles found in many scholarly journals go through a "peer-review" process. In other words, the articles are checked by academics and other experts. The information is therefore reliable. As well as containing scholarly information, journal articles can include reports and/or reviews of current research and topic-specific information.
Use scholarly journals when you need original research on a topic; articles and essays written by scholars or subject experts; factual documented information to reinforce a position; or references lists that point you to other relevant research. Scholarly journals take less time to publish than books, but the peer-review process can be lengthy.
Popular articles found in magazines are often written by journalist or professional writers for a general audience. They tend to be shorter than scholarly journal articles and rarely give full citations for sources. Popular articles from magazines are helpful if you want background on a topic that is new to you or very current information.
Related Guide: Find Articles
Core Electronic Resources
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases. - Applied Science and Technology Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Full Text contains indexing and abstracts for scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics, and much more. - Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983 offers indexing for articles. This database is a resource for tracking down important studies, exploring historic controversies, finding papers by innovators, researching the development of particular technologies, and more. - ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Library provides access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It provides access to full-text papers from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, ebooks, and standards. - ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ASTM Digital Library provides access to full text journals, special technical publications, standards, manuals, data series, and terminology that covers a broad range of engineering disciplines.
Related & Multidisciplinary Resources
- Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. - USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new window
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 170,000 publications written by U.S. Geological Survey scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau (since 1879). This includes official publications such as USGS-authored journal articles, series reports, book chapters, other government publications, and conference proceedings. - OSTI: Office of Scientific and Technical Information This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information provides comprehensive access to the results of DOE research and development investments. OSTI is implementing public access to the peer-reviewed scholarly publications resulting from DOE R&D funding. - Materials Science Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance, and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. - Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Off Campus? Access Is Easy!
Start from the Library Website, just find what you want and log in with your Mines credentials when prompted. Learn more on our off campus access guide.
Browse eJournals in Mining Engineering
Where Is It?
| A - Neural Computation | 1M Floor (Mezzanine) |
| Neural Networks - Z | 1st Floor |
| Browsing Journals | 2nd Floor |
Google Scholar Search
Note: To Identify Yourself as Colorado School of Mines User:
- go to Settings at the the top of the Google Scholar search screen
- select Library links
- Search for "Colorado School of Mines" and click Save.