Why Reference?
Reference works are an excellent first stop in your research and are incredibly useful for the following:
- Getting an overview of a topic
- Getting topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
- Learning the key works on a given topic
- Discovering the key authors on a given topic
Reference works are a good starting off point, but should not be cited in your research as they are not considered primary or secondary sources. The only exception is when reference works contain primary and secondary sources (like collections of documents and essays).
Handbooks and Manuals
Handbooks are general information sources which provides quick reference for a given subject area. Handbooks are generally subject-specific.
Mining and Rock Construction Technology by Call Number: TN9 .M66 2011ISBN: 9780415600439Publication Date: 2010-11-10
SME Mining Engineering Handbook by Call Number: TN145 .S56 2011ISBN: 9780873352642Publication Date: 2011-02-25
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide excellent background/overview information, providing an excellent way to begin research. Many provide bibliographies for further reading. Mostly located in the second-floor reference collection in the TNs, here's a sampling of some of the print resources available:
Dictionary of Mining, Mineral and Related Terms by Call Number: TN9 .D564 1997ISBN: 0922152365Publication Date: 2000-04-01
Electronic Reference Resources
- SME Mining Engineering Handbook by Call Number: TN145 .S56 2011ISBN: 9780873352642Publication Date: 2011-02-25
