Library Research and Statistics Websites
- ACRL (Association of College & Research Libraries) Academic Library StatisticsThe Association of College & Research Libraries is the largest division of the ALA. Their website includes links to recent ACRL publications and reports, books and digital resources, and statistics and white papers.
- ACRL Value of Academic LibrariesWeb site with link to full report
- ALA (American Library Association) Library StatisticsThe ALA Library Statistics website provides library fact sheets, quotable facts about America's libraries, and research on libraries and librarianship.
- ARL (Association of Research Libraries) StatisticsFind statistics about academic libraries and tools for assessment from the Association of Research Libraries.
- Colorado State Government Statistical InformationVarious agencies of Colorado state government provide statistical data and related information on a large variety of topics. The web links included in this brief list will lead to additional resources. This is a quick information guide to selected print and electronic publications, as well as web sites, maintained by state agencies only. Many current and historical print publications on this topic are available to borrow from the State Publications Library.
- IMLS (Institute of Museum and Library Services)The IMLS (Institute of Museum and Library Services) website has data sets, publications, program evaluations, data analysis tools, evaluation resources and research guidelines.
- LibValueValues, Outcomes, and Return on Investment of Academic Libraries (LibValue) was a three-year study funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services to define and measure ways in which academic libraries create value through research, teaching and learning, and social, professional, and public engagement.
- LRS (Library Research Service)Find research and statistics, including data sets and publications about libraries and librarianship, in Colorado and the U.S. The LRS website also provides links to other resources, and tools such as the ROI (return on investment) calculator.
- NCES (National Center for Education Statistics) Library Statistics ProgramThe National Center for Education Statistics sponsors a Library Statistics program , which offers publications, fast facts, data and tools about school libraries.
- NMC Horizon ReportsThe Horizon Report: Library Edition "examines key trends, significant challenges, and emerging technologies for their potential impact on academic and research libraries worldwide" and is updated annually.
- OCLC ResearchPublications and reports, newsletters, and publications from OCLC Research.
- Placements and Salaries Survey 2022The Library Journal does an annual survey of what librarians earn and where they work.
- Census.gov This link opens in a new window
Serves as a leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Data included is the Decennial Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, Census of Governments, American Community Survey, and Economic Indicators.
Colorado School of Mines
- Career CenterIncludes placement rates, job outlooks, industry trends, potential employers.
- Multicultural Engineering Program (MEP)Minority Student Enrollment Trends
- Women in Science, Engineering and Mathematics (WISEM)Statistics -- Includes both CSM and US data.
State of Colorado
- Colorado Education StatisticsFocus on K-12 education; includes graduation rates.
- College WebsitesLists at Colorado Department of Higher Education
Organizations and Publications
- Annual "Trends" articles in industry journals, for example Chemical & Engineering News "Trends in Academic R&D Spending."
- Theme articles in higher ed journals, for example the Chronicle of Higher Education's: "A new standard of measuring doctoral programs" (1/13/07, A8-A13).
- State agency websites on higher education statistics, particularly on student demographics and graduation rates.
- University websites, which may include budget, enrollment, and faculty or student demographics.
National Statistics and Data
- Chronicle of Higher Education Facts and FiguresIncludes faculty productivity. Note: Subscription required for full text access
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)From the National Science Foundation (NSF).
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System)Admissions, tuition rates and financial aid, enrollment, demographics, graduation rates.
- Nation's Report CardStatistics from National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) project.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)From the National Science Foundation (NSF).
- National Education AssociationStatistics for public K-12 schools
- Science and Engineering Statistics, NSF Division of Science Resources StatisticsBudget, student and faculty demographics.
- Open Doors Online, Institute of International EducationData on foreign students in the US and US students studying abroad.
- Pew | Internet & TechnologyA project of the Pew Research Center, provides data sets of internet and technology use since 2000.
- Science and Engineering Statistics, NSF Division of Science Resources StatisticsBudget, student and faculty demographics.
- NCSES Survey Data This link opens in a new window
NSF's statistical data portal for science and engineering at U.S. academic institutions.
Educational Rankings
Various methodologies have been developed to rank institutions of higher education. The following include a few of the major systems as well as overviews about the systems.
- Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU)Annual rankings published by the Center for World-Class Universities and the Institute of Higher Education of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China. Includes rankings for engineering and math programs.
- Carnegie ClassificationsFrom the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, leading framework for analyzing U.S. higher education institutions, with data back to 1970.
- Institute for Higher Education Policy (IHEP)Nonpartisan, nonprofit organization focusing on student access to higher education. Publishes reports on issues with institutional ranking.
- Times Higher Education (THE)International ranking system for universities. Includes the top 50 universities for engineering and IT. As of 2010, rankings are based on the Global Institutional Profiles Project, launched by Thomson Reuters.
- U.S. News & World Report RankingsPre-eminent U.S. system. Includes engineering schools. Requires subscription access for full content.