Library Guides: HNRS 305 -- Explorations in Modern America: Home

In This Guide

You will complete a variety of assignments while taking this course, including research papers. This guide can help you find and evaluate information from the library and beyond.

Related Guides:

Image Credit: Elon Musk by Olivia Longray Used under CC BY 2.0.

Core Electronic Resources

These sources can help you get started on your research:

Library Catalog - Colorado School of Mines This link opens in a new window
Search the library's catalog for physical and electronic resources to find books, articles, maps, videos, and more.
Browse our virtual discovery collections:
Mines Authors
Diversity Collection
Sustainability Collection
Course Readings Collection
Points of View Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database offering information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as: The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO, California Newsreel, and more. Their website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.