HNRS 305 -- Explorations in Modern America

Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.

Gale Primary Sources allows users to search across all of our Gale primary source collections.

This archive covers every aspect of nineteenth-century science: electricity and electromagnetism, mathematics, engineering, astronomy and astrophysics, color theory, the theory of natural selection, geology and mineralogy, chemistry, and medicine.

This digital collection offers a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century. This collection highlights the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of the time through sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, and more.

This collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. It is an unprecedented scholarly collection, and it offers never before available research and teaching opportunities.

Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. History. This resource merges reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites.

Features current full text and pertinent backfile coverage of topics relevant to women around the world, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.

Presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community.

Abstracting and indexing of all government publications with full text for Congressional Hearings 1824 to present. Plus bill tracking and legislative histories, member profiles, research, and CIS index.

The Mines Institutional Repository is a database designed to store, index, distribute, and preserve the scholarship of faculty, researchers, staff, and students of the School in digital form. It provides free, worldwide open access to scholarly and administrative works produced by or about the Colorado School of Mines.

This brings together the collections of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available. It provides over 34 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, and the data of science.

First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search 230 years of this invaluable historical source.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963.

Provides a window into events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end.

The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 880,000 digitized pages, representing over 200 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado primarily from 1859 to 1923.

EAA presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials, drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, provide a significant and informative perspective on the early evolution of this most ubiquitous feature of modern American business and culture.

The Rotunda Founders Early Access project provides thousands of unpublished documents from our nation’s founders for free. Collected over many years by the Founders documentary editions, these letters and other papers penned by important figures such as James Madison, John Adams, George Washington and Thomas Jefferson offer Americans a wider view of the early Republic.

Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction (1850-1877). The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

A cooperative venture of Stanford University, the King Center for Nonviolent Social Change, and the King Estate, the Project's principal mission is to publish definitive volumes of Dr. King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts. Also includes an autobiography, biographies and a chronology of Dr. King, as well as articles written by project staff members.