Map & GIS Librarian and Academic Outreach Coordinator
In This Guide
This guide will introduce you to several library resources where you can locate current, full text newspapers and journal articles, as well as provide RSS feeds and links to a variety of current news sources at the local, national, and international level.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the following pages of the guide:
- Find Articles - resources for finding current events information.
- Reference Works -background information, key concepts, and definitions
- Local News - links and RSS feeds for Colorado news
- National News - links and RSS feeds for U.S. news
- International News - links and RSS feeds for global news
- Specialty News - resources for historical and subject specific news
- Evaluating News -information on finding authoritative sources
Core Electronic Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection provides access to full-text local, regional, national, and international news sources. Updated daily, it offers primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web-only, and blogs. - New York Times (Registration Link) This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access (no daily limits) to the New York Times using our @mines.edu email. Use this link to create your account and then login to nytimes.com or download the New York Times app.
Our subscription provides archival access back to 1851. Additionally, it includes all multimedia such as InEducation and access to the Spanish and Mandarin Chinese versions. Our subscription does not include NYT Cooking or Games. - Wall Street Journal (registration link) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Registered your @mines.edu email for WSJ access using this link. Once registered, you will have access to wsj.com articles from 1997 to present as well as their apps (Apple Store and Google Play Store). - Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A good source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
We also have access to the Chronicle of Philanthropy for philanthropic news. - General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a number of general reference magazines and key serials in a single resource. This database is useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research.
- News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. - Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. - TOPICsearch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
- JSTOR Daily
JSTOR Daily is an online publication that contextualizes current events with scholarship. JSTOR Daily stories provide background—historical, scientific, literary, political, and otherwise—for understanding today’s often-confusing world. All of the stories contain links to free, publicly accessible research on JSTOR.
Is It Real?
Sometimes it's difficult to tell if the information you're looking at is true. In that case, see if you can confirm the information elsewhere:
- FactCheck.orgA nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. They monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
- Politifact"PolitiFact staffers research statements and rate their accuracy on the Truth-O-Meter, from True to False. The most ridiculous falsehoods get the lowest rating, Pants on Fire."
- SnopesThis site started out investigating urban legends online, but its scope has grown to include lots of kinds of information online including the news.