Get Started on Research
- Ropeway Database This link opens in a new window
The Information Center for Ropeway Studies (Ropeway Center) provides access to a comprehensive collection on information relative to the history, theory, design, and operation of ropeway systems including recreational and materials ropeways. - Mines Repository This link opens in a new window
A shared repository providing open access to research and scholarship, including works from the Ropeway Center. - Library Catalog - Colorado School of Mines This link opens in a new windowSearch the library's catalog for physical and electronic resources to find books, articles, maps, videos, and more.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases. - Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes content on metals and materials non-destructive testing, fatigue, and failure. - Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Covers patents and applications from USPTO, EPO, WIPO, DPMA, CIPO and SIPO. Updating frequency is not clear.
News & Historical Information
For information about ropeways in the news, both current and historical...
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes local, regional, national, international events. - Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 880,000 digitized pages, representing over 200 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado primarily from 1859 to 1923.
Colorado Chairlift Resource Center, ColoradoSkiHistory.com
- Colorado Chairlift Timeline -- Advances in the ropeways ski industry, 1876-2007
- Operating Colorado Chairlift Database
- Lost Resort Chairlift Database
- History of Funiculars in Colorado
Google Scholar Search
Full Text Articles, Books
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Standards for Passenger Ropeways
ANSI Safety Requirements B77.1-1999. Standard for Passenger Ropeways, Aerial Tramways, Aerial Lifts, Surface Lifts, Tows and Conveyors.
Countries have their own governing bodies to monitor safety and operation for ropeways. In the US, some states have agencies assigned for this purpose as well. For Colorado --