Related Guides
In This Guide
This research guide will get you started with data and information resources for learning and research in health and medicine, especially those collected and subscribed by the Arthur Lakes Library at Mines.
If you are off-campus and have difficulties with accessing our resources, please see the Off Campus Access guide page for help.
Core Electronic Databases for Health and Medical Information
- MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. It comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. - Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. - Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. - SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text coverage for all the sciences, engineering, forestry, geography, homeland security and terrorism, International relations, mathematics, military and defense, public health and safety, and sustainability. - Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics for researchers and health care professionals. - Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. A comprehensive consumer health resource that provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
- Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, CHC is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
