Resources on Campus
Looking for a 24/7 confidential crisis or suicide resource?
Contact Colorado Crisis Services
Need to speak to a trained professional right away?
Call 1-844-493-TALK (8255) or text TALK to 38255
The Counseling Center provides mental health services to students and is staffed by licensed and experienced professionals skilled in handling a variety of presenting concerns. They also provide Therapy Assistance Online (TAO) as a self-help resource.
Student Life: Health Resources
Every Oredigger: Campus-wide initiative to encourage wellbeing
CARE at Mines: Crisis Assessment, Response, and Education
Submit a CARE report if you think a student needs help.
Article Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. It comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. - MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations. - Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics for researchers and health care professionals. - Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. A comprehensive consumer health resource that provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. - Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database offering information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
CogPrints is "an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science."
PTSDpubs "is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma."
Not finding what you need? - Search broader
- Prospector This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Prospector is a unified catalog of academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Through Prospector you have access to millions of books, journals, DVDs, CDs, streaming videos, and other materials held in these libraries. With a single search, you can identify and borrow materials from the collections and have them delivered to your local library.
Search across catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries across the world using Worldcat.org. If you find a book in Worldcat that we do not have at Mines Library, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Books
Anxiety and Panic Attacks by ISBN: 9781440852985Publication Date: 2018-04-19This book tackles readers' questions regarding anxiety and panic attacks, dispelling misconceptions and examining real-world scenarios that highlight important concepts and controversies.
Class and Campus Life by Call Number: Browsing - Featured Titles (Floor 2) LC1756 .L39 2016ISBN: 1501703110Publication Date: 2016-05-10In Class and Campus Life, Elizabeth M. Lee shows how class differences are enacted and negotiated by students, faculty, and administrators at an elite liberal arts college for women located in the Northeast. Using material from two years of fieldwork and more than 140 interviews with students, faculty, administrators, and alumnae at the pseudonymous Linden College, Lee adds depth to our understanding of inequality in higher education.
Crazy-Stressed: Saving today's overwhelmed teens with love, laughter, and the science of resilience by ISBN: 9780814438053Publication Date: 2017-04-27VOYA Voice of Youth Advocates: Essential Books for Professionals Who Serve Teens A little resilience goes a long way.... Peel back the cheerful facade that parents present, and you'll find that many are worried about their teens.
Deconstructing Stigma in Mental Health by ISBN: 9781522538080Publication Date: 2018-05-11Deconstructing Stigma in Mental Health provides emerging research on issues related to stigma as a whole including ignorance, prejudice, and discrimination. While highlighting issues such as stigma and its role in mental health and how stigma is perpetuated in society, this publication explores the historical context of stigma, current issues and resolutions through intersectional collaboration, and the deconstruction of mental health stigmas.
Eating Disorders by ISBN: 9781440853005Publication Date: 2018-05-10This encyclopedia offers a variety of resources for readers interested in learning more about eating disorders, including hundreds of reference entries, interviews, scholarly debates, and case studies.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by ISBN: 9781410388179Publication Date: 2018-11-01"Presents authoritative, comprehensive information on more than 200 mental disorders as well as drugs, treatments and therapies, alternative treatments, diagnostic and evaluation procedures, and related biological concepts totaling 530 articles"--Provided by publisher.
Hanging Out by ISBN: 9781440843921Publication Date: 2017-12-01"Hanging out" may be something most people don't ponder, but socializing across our lifetimes is a key part of the human experience, and it plays an important role in our lives at the individual level as well as in social interactions within larger numbers of people: groups of friends, communities, entire countries or cultures, and even global society.
It's OK That You're Not OK by Call Number: Browsing - Featured Titles (Floor 2) BF575.G7 D479 2017ISBN: 1622039076Publication Date: 2017-10-01When a painful loss or life-shattering event upends your world, here is the first thing to know: there is nothing wrong with grief. "Grief is simply love in its most wild and painful form," says Megan Devine. "It is a natural and sane response to loss."
Latina/O American Health and Mental Health by ISBN: 9781440854897Publication Date: 2018-02-16Essential reading for health and mental health administrators, community agencies, and policy makers as well as students and general interest readers, this book details the state of the physical and mental health of many Latina/o American groups.
LGBT Psychology and Mental Health by ISBN: 9781440843372Publication Date: 2017-10-27LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances brings together concise, substantive reviews of what is new or on the horizon in science and in key areas of clinical practice.
Long-Term Outcomes of Military Service by Call Number: Browsing - Featured Titles (Floor 2) U22.3 .L628 2018ISBN: 1433828049Publication Date: 2017-10-01The prevalence of negative trauma and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) among military veterans is well-known. But other more subtle effects of military service--particularly on health and well-being in later life--are less well-understood, among researchers as well as medical and mental health professionals who care for veterans.
Mental Health and Mental Disorders by ISBN: 9781440803826Publication Date: 2015-12-14Serving as an indispensable resource for students and general-interest readers alike, this three-volume work provides a comprehensive view of mental health that covers both mental well-being and mental illness.
Nutrition and Mental Health by ISBN: 9781439863367Publication Date: 2013-01-29This book provides a report of broadly selected scientific research on how various nutrients affect mental health.
Raising Mental Health Awareness in Higher Education by ISBN: 9781522537939Publication Date: 2017-11-24Raising Mental Health Awareness in Higher Education: Emerging Research and Opportunities describes the current state of college students' mental health in the United States, influences that contribute to wavering mental health, factors that promote flourishing mental health, and interventions that support mental health.
Suicide and Mental Health by ISBN: 9781610695831Publication Date: 2014-10-14Written primarily for high school and college students as well as for their teachers and parents, this guide combines relevant research and theories about suicide with current clinical thinking and approaches to diagnosis and treatment.
