Library Guides: Health and Medical Resources: Find Articles

Mines Library Catalog Search

Begin by searching the Mines Library Catalog for articles on your topic. Use the filters to select "Articles."

Note that not all articles are searchable in the catalog. For more specific searches, use databases like Web of Science, Google Scholar, or Scitation.

Core Electronic Databases for Health and Medical Information

MEDLINE (ProQuest)
MEDLINE® is a database of millions of biomedical citations from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, adding over 700,000 each year.
PubMed
PubMed is a free resource for accessing over 35 million citations in biomedical and life sciences literature, aimed at improving health.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
This resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Access key scholarly literature and conference proceedings across various fields.
Access Includes:
1. Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-E) --- 1900-present
2. Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) --- 1977-present
3. Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) --- 2014-present
4. Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) --- 1990-present
5. Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --- 1990-present
6. Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --- 2019-present
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest)
The SciTech Premium Collection offers full-text coverage in various fields, including sciences, engineering, and public health.

Cross Searches the following databases:
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database; Agricultural & Environmental Science Database; Biological Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Materials Science & Engineering Database; Military Database
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
This resource provides up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics for researchers and health care professionals.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Access reliable medical resources for health information. This is for educational use only.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
CHC is a key resource for consumer health information, covering topics from conventional to holistic medicine.
SciFinder-n
Access CAS SciFinder-n to identify chemicals, their details, and properties.

Access Note: For current Mines affiliates only. First-time users must register with their @mines.edu email.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database providing information across many academic fields.
Google Scholar
This resource lets you search for various scholarly materials, including papers, theses, and reports.

Note: To make sure links to full-text resources offered by Mines are included in your results, click on the Settings button in the right-hand corner, then on Library Links in the left-hand column. Type in or click on Colorado School of Mines and select Save.

Find Journals via BrowZine

BrowZine
BrowZine offers access to open access and subscription content from the Arthur Lakes Library, organizing journals by subject for easy browsing.

Available for access in a browser or via a mobile app. Download the BrowZine app from the Google Play Store, Apple App Store, or Amazon Kindle App

Journal Title Search

If you know the journal title, search for it in the catalog. For instance, searching "The Lancet" will display its catalog record, allowing you to view the table of contents.