Teaching & Learning Librarian
Related Guides
Scholarly Sources
Get started with your research for your paper in these broad, multi-disciplinary resources.
- Library Catalog - Colorado School of Mines This link opens in a new window
Search the library's catalog for physical and electronic resources to find books, articles, maps, videos, and more. - Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database offering information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital archive of scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics. - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracting and indexing of all government publications with full text for Congressional Hearings 1824 to present. Plus bill tracking and legislative histories, member profiles, research, and CIS index. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation. - Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations. - GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Newspapers
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection provides access to full-text local, regional, national, and international news sources. Updated daily, it offers primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web-only, and blogs. - Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963. - Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 880,000 digitized pages, representing over 200 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado primarily from 1859 to 1923. - News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. - Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. - New York Times (Registration Link) This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access (no daily limits) to the New York Times using our @mines.edu email. Use this link to create your account and then login to nytimes.com or download the New York Times app.
Our subscription provides archival access back to 1851. Additionally, it includes all multimedia such as InEducation and access to the Spanish and Mandarin Chinese versions. Our subscription does not include NYT Cooking or Games. - Wall Street Journal (registration link) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Registered your @mines.edu email for WSJ access using this link. Once registered, you will have access to wsj.com articles from 1997 to present as well as their apps (Apple Store and Google Play Store).
Finding Good Web Resources
Use these good search habits to find high quality, authoritative sources on the internet:
1) Limit your Google Search by domain -- add site:. before a domain, such as .gov or .edu.
2) Use Google Scholar, instead of the regular Google search box to find for scholarly articles
3) Let the Google Scholar citation help you find related articles, create a citation or get the full text from the library
LINKS TO AUTHORITATIVE SOURCES
These websites contain great information for your project