Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In This Guide
This guide will help you navigate the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences resources the Library offers.
Use the tabs above to access the following pages of the guide:
Image Credit: Chris Lawton on Unsplash
Core Electronic Resources
Online resources to help start your research.
Academic Search Premier
This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR: Arts and Sciences Collections I-III
Full-text digital archive of over 700 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
SpringerLink is Springer's comprehensive online delivery platform, providing easy access to millions of STM resources, including ebooks, journal articles, reference works, and protocols.
Environmental Studies in Video
500 hours of film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. Films were produced from 1970 to the present, and address specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.
Environmental Issues Online
This database uses text, archival primary sources, and video to address major past and ongoing environmental issues—water challenges, air pollution, biodiversity, climate change, energy issues, consumption and waste issues, and land issues—in comparative, historical, global, and interdisciplinary ways.
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as: The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more. Their website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.
World Bank Open Data
The World Bank provides open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Broader access to these data allow policymakers and advocacy groups to make better-informed decisions and measure improvements more accurately. They are also valuable tools to support research by journalists, academia, and others, broadening understanding of global issues.
Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 72 different languages. Mango utilizes its proprietary methodology, engaging interface, and easy, intuitive interactive tools to deliver practical conversational skills and valuable cultural insight for new languages.
Note: Begin using Mango right away by clicking on the "Guest Access" button, sign-up for a Mango profile to track your activity, or login to your existing profile. Mobile app is also available for download.
Special Formats Metadata Librarian
Off Campus? Access Is Easy!