Reference Works
Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide background/overview information. Many provide bibliographies for further reading. Handbooks are general information sources that provide quick reference for a given subject area. Handbooks are generally subject-specific. Here is a sampling of some of the library's resources:
Encyclopedia of Mineral and Energy Policy by
This Encyclopedia provides a cutting-edge, up-to-date reference source on mineral and energy policies around the world. It offers information on GDP, population, investment scenarios and current environmental regulations in over one hundred thirty countries from 13 geographic regions around the world. It covers topics such as geo-conservation, deep mining technology as well as rare earth, green technology and international organizations that are actively involved in minerals and energy through exploration, arbitration, marketing and investment. Topical entries are presented alphabetically with extensive cross-referencing to ensure user-friendly reading. This Encyclopedia presents the work of more than 20 section editors and more than 100 international experts in the fields of mineral and energy policies. It is designed as a essential resource for researchers, students, libraries, industry, governments, and international organizations and presents a wealth of insights and guidance for corporate planning regarding exploration and financial investments, as well as for venture capitalist and international funding bodies. As such, it provides an indispensable point of reference for future research on mineral and energy policy.
ISBN: 9783662474921Publication Date: 2023-06-30
Encyclopedia of Business and Professional Ethics by
This encyclopedia, edited by the past editors and founder of the Journal of Business Ethics, is the only reference work dedicated entirely to business and professional ethics. Containing over 2000 entries, this multi-volume, major research reference work provides a broad-based disciplinary and interdisciplinary approach to all of the key topics in the field. The encyclopedia draws on three interdisciplinary and over-lapping fields: business ethics, professional ethics and applied ethics although the main focus is on business ethics. The breadth of scope of this work draws upon the expertise of human and social scientists, as well as that of professionals and scientists in varying fields. This work has come to fruition by making use of the expert academic input from the extraordinarily rich population of current and past editorial board members and section editors of and contributors to the Journal of Business Ethics.
ISBN: 9783030227654Publication Date: 2023-05-03
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, Second Edition, Fourteen Volume Set embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors--in other words, the things that make people and places different. Questions of, for example, politics, economics, race relations and migration are introduced and discussed through a geographical lens. This updated edition will assist readers in their research by providing factual information, historical perspectives, theoretical approaches, reviews of literature, and provocative topical discussions that will stimulate creative thinking. Presents the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage on the topic of human geography Contains extensive scope and depth of coverage Emphasizes how geographers interact with, understand and contribute to problem-solving in the contemporary world Places an emphasis on how geography is relevant in a social and interdisciplinary context
ISBN: 0081022964Publication Date: 2019-11-29
Encyclopedia of Science Technology and Ethics by
Described by Catholic World (2006) as a treasure trove for beginning literacy in the disciplines of science, technology, and ethics, the 2005 edition of Encyclopedia Of Science, Technology, and Ethics (ESTE) is being revised to include new analytical and interpretive essays on the events, scholarship, people, and legal decisions that have marked the period since the first edition was researched and published. In addition, to help make ESTE more global and interdisciplinary in scope and reach, the second edition will engage consultants from ethics centers around the world, and will feature the revised title Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource. Highlights of the new edition include an updated glossary and chronology, in addition to scores of new entries, hundreds of revised entries, and more than 300 graphics/images. To be published in four volumes by Macmillan Reference USA, an imprint of Gale/Cengage Learning.
ISBN: 9780028661964Publication Date: 2014-08-25
Handbooks and Manuals
Handbook of Climate Change Mitigation and Adaptation by ISBN: 9783030725785Publication Date: 2022-06-03
Handbook of Environmental Sociology by
This handbook defines the contours of environmental sociology and invites readers to push boundaries in their exploration of this important subdiscipline. It offers a comprehensive overview of the evolution of environmental sociology and its role in this era of intensified national and global environmental crises. Its timely frameworks and high-impact chapters will assist in navigating this moment of great environmental inequality and uncertainty. The handbook brings together an outstanding group of scholars who have helped redefine the scope of environmental sociology and expand its reach and impact. Their contributions speak to key themes of the subdiscipline--inequality, justice, population, social movements, and health. Chapter topics include environmental demography, food systems, animals and the environment, climate change, disasters, and much more. The emphasis on public environmental sociology and the forward-thinking approach of this collection is what sets this volume apart. This handbook can serve as an introduction for students new to environmental sociology or as an insightful treatment that current experts can use to further their own research and publication. It will leave readers with a strong understanding of environmental sociology and the motivation to apply it to their work.
ISBN: 3030777111Publication Date: 2021-11-02
The Oxford Handbook of Energy Politics by
The global, regional, and local energy landscape has changed dramatically in the twenty-first century. Many factors have affected what we know about energy: a consensus among scientists on climate change and related support for renewable energy, evolving energy and resource extractiontechnologies, growing resource demand in the developing world, new regional and global energy governance actors, new major fossil fuel discoveries on land and underwater in states that have previously been under-resourced, rising interest in corporate social responsibility in energy companies, andthe need for energy justice.The Oxford Handbook of Energy Politics synthesizes the diverse literature on these topics to provide a foundational resource for teaching and research on critical energy issues in international relations and comparative politics. Through chapters authored by both scholars and practitioners, theHandbook further develops the energy politics scholarship and community, and generates sophisticated new work that will benefit all who work on energy issues.
ISBN: 9780190861360Publication Date: 2020-12-02
Handbook of Energy Economics and Policy by
Handbook of Energy Economics and Policy: Fundamentals and Applications for Engineers and Energy Planners presents energy engineers and managers with analytical skills and concepts that enable them to apply simple economic logic to understand the interrelations between energy technologies, economics, regulation and governance of the industry. Sections cover the origins, types and measurement of energy sources, transportation networks, and regulatory and policy issues on electricity and gas at a global level, new economic and policy issues, including innovation processes in the energy industry and economic and policy implications. Final sections cover state-of-the-art methods for modeling and predicting the dynamics of energy systems. Its unique approach and learning path makes this book an ideal resource for energy engineering practitioners and researchers working to design, develop, plan or deploy energy systems. Energy planners and policymakers will also find this to be a solid foundation on which to base decisions.
ISBN: 9780128147139Publication Date: 2021-05-01
The Oxford Handbook of Energy and Society by
The Oxford Handbook of Energy and Society presents an overview of this expanding area that has evolved dramatically over the past decade, away from one largely dominated by structural, political economic treatments on the one hand, and social-psychological studies of individual-level attitudesand behaviors on the other, toward a far more conceptually and methodologically rich and exciting field that brings in, for example, social practices, system complexity, risk theory, social studies of science, and social movements theories. This volume seeks to capture the variety of scales andmethods, and range of both conceptual and empirical analyses that define the field, while drawing particular attention to indigenous peoples, poverty, political power, communities and cities. Organized into seven sections, chapters cover social theory and energy-society relations, political-economicperspectives, consumption dynamics, energy equity and energy poverty, energy and publics, energy and governance, as well as emerging trends.
ISBN: 9780190633851Publication Date: 2018-08-08
