Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Theses or Dissertations?
PhD and Masters theses will give you:
- In-depth knowledge about a specific aspect of a subject, which may include original research data.
- A review of the subject, with citations to the literature.
On behalf of the Colorado School of Mines and the Graduate School, the Library serves as the repository for Mines theses and dissertations in both print and digital formats.
Note: Some theses and dissertations may be embargoed up to a year after graduation before public release; please see the Graduate School Information. Copyright of the original thesis is retained by the author.
How Do I Find a Mines Thesis?
Use the Library Catalog
- Search by author, title, keywords, department or advisor
- Filter to Resource Type "Mines Theses"
- See the Library Front Desk to check out a print version of a thesis (pre-Fall 2012)
How Do I Find Digital Mines Theses?
Mines Institutional Repository -- Has CSM digital theses for Fall 2012-present.
Mines Institutional Repository
The Mines Institutional Repository is a database designed to store, index, distribute, and preserve the scholarship of faculty, researchers, staff, and students of the School in digital form. It is part of Mountain Scholar: Digital Collections of Colorado & Wyoming and provides free, worldwide open access to scholarly and administrative works produced by or about the Colorado School of Mines.
Dissertations and Theses @ Colorado School of Mines
This ProQuest database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Colorado School of Mines. Provides full text from 2012 to the present. Many older dissertations and theses are available going back to 1922.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Offers more than 2 million full-text dissertations in science, technology, business, humanities, social sciences, and more. Full-text available.
Klimowicz, Steven. 2014. Hydrogen mitigation in submerged arc welding. Golden CO: Colorado School of Mines. Thesis (M. Sc.), 82 p.
Off Campus? Access Is Easy!