Mines Library Catalog Search
To start, you may use the Mines Library Catalog to search for research articles for a broad understanding of your research topic. Use the faceted filters on the right side of the search result to narrow it down to Resource Types / Articles.
Please note: not all research articles which the library subscribes to are searchable through the catalog. Only use the catalog for a broad search to get started and use specialized databases such as the Web of Science, Google Scholar, or Scitation (AIP journals and more) to run more specific and comprehensive searches on your topic.
Core Electronic Databases for Physics
- American Physical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to the journals published by the American Physical Society (APS). - IOPscience This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access to journals published by the Institute of Physics (IOP). - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Inspec is a comprehensive database that has citations and abstracts of journal articles and conference papers from all area of physics and other high technology allied fields. - AIP Publishing This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current advances and foundational research covering the breadth and depth of the physical sciences. Explore the latest news, peer-reviewed research, reviews, books, and proceedings from AIP Publishing and its partners. - arXiv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
arXiv provides open access to over a million e-prints in the fields of computer science, economics, electrical engineering and systems science, mathematics, physics, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. - American Institute of Physics (AIP) Conference Proceedings This link opens in a new windowReports findings presented at many of the most important scientific meetings around the world. Provides quick access to information before it appears in the traditional journal literature.
- Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. - Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides editorially-curated A&I resources drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, and environmental sciences - Astrophysics Data System: ADS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital Library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 12.5 million records covering publications in astronomy, astrophysics, physics, and the arXiv e-prints. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
From foundational science to new and novel research, discover our large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied. - National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new window
This resource facilitates access to the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs, and audio-visual products from Federal sources.
Specialized Databases
Condensed Matter
- Institute for Condensed Matter Physics (ICMP) Preprints
Preprint server from National Academy of Science of Ukraine.
Coverage: 1996 - present
High Energy
- Kek Information Service System (KISS)This is a WWW interface to KISS (KEK Information Service System - from Tsukuba, Japan) for Preprints including technical reports. KEK specializes in physics.
- FermiLab - Technical Publications
Publications including preprints, technical memos, physics notes, thesis, dissertation, proposal etc. from FermiLab.
- INSPIRE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
INSPIRE is a database dedicated to literature about High-Energy Physics. Partners include CERN, DESY, Fermilab, and SLAC.
- Preprints in Particles and FieldsA listserv and archive format of the preprints.
Mathematical Physics
- Mathematical Physics Preprint ArchiveArchive for research papers in Mathematical Physics and related areas. Cover 1991 - present
Nuclear Physics
- International Nuclear Information System This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The INIS Repository, created by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), contains bibliographic references and full-text documents of conventional and non-conventional literature on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, including scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents, and theses.
Particle Physics
- CERN Document Center
Repository of CERN publications and articles, reports, and multimedia content from other sources in High Energy Physics field.
Journal Title Search
If you know the title of the journal you want to browse, you could search for the journal title in the catalog. For example, if you do a search on Physical Review Letters, the first item to come up will be the catalog record for the journal. You can then view the table of contents for the journal.