Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off Campus Access

Mines Proxy Server

What is the library's proxy server address?

https://mines.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

The EZProxy, our proxy server hosted by OCLC, prefix address should be placed in front of the permalink address for library resources that require authentication. Some databases will already include the proxy server address, but some will not.

Example: http://search.proquest.com becomes https://mines.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.proquest.com

You can also use a browser extension to redirect links through the proxy. 

Will the proxied link work off-campus?

Subscription database links will not work off-campus without authentication from a proxy server. If the permalinks do not include the campus proxy URL, students will not be able to access the material from off-campus. Some databases will add the proxy URL automatically, and some will not.

Note:  You do not need to add the proxy to freely available sites or links that already contain mines.idm.oclc.org

Who can access proxied links?

Anyone who has a MultiPass; Students, Faculty, and Staff.

Can I bookmark the Library's electronic resources for off-campus access?

Yes, bookmarking links to electronic resources can help with accessing resources on and off campus. Be sure to have the proxy in the URL (mines.idm.oclc.org) in order to maintain streamless access. If the URL you are saving doesn't have the proxy add the proxy prefix to the beginning (https://mines.idm.oclc.org/login?url=) and that test that it works before saving and/or sharing with Mines students, faculty, and/or staff.

How do I get help with the proxy?

If you need help, Contact Us.

Permalinks & Persistent Links

What are permalinks?

Permalinks are static or permanent web addresses (URLs) that point to a specific item such as an online article or ebook.

Why use permalinks?

If you copy a URL from the browser it usually contains more information than the direct link to the specific item. Some databases also use URLs that change for each new search session even if you are looking up the same information.

EBSCOhost is an example of a database vendor that requires permalinks to be generated within the database.  Click the vendor name for instructions for finding the persistent link URL within its databases.

Are you using an item from the Library Catalog?

Be sure to use the Permalink, the link in the browser bar is not persistent.