Our People
Who's a Miner? Biographical
Mines publications are a good source of information and can include:
- Lists of students and faculty (early Catalogs)
- Portraits and photographs (Prospector Year Books, Mines Magazine)
- News items, obituaries (Mines Magazine, Oredigger Newspaper)
Students, Faculty and Staff List -- Alphabetical list of names from the Mines Catalogs and alumni directories.
- Honorary Degree RecipientsColorado School of Mines Alumni Association
- Class & Group PhotographsFormal group photographs, most representing early classes at Mines.
- Biographies CollectionMiscellaneous papers by/about Mines faculty, staff, alumni and benefactors over time.
- Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 880,000 digitized pages, representing over 200 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado primarily from 1859 to 1923. - Mines Repository This link opens in a new window
Prospector Yearbooks, photographs, and more in the CSM History Archive menu.
More from the R&LW Mining History Archive
See the Russell L. & Lyn Wood Mining History Archive for:
A0016 Clark Bailey Carpenter Collection -- Faculty member who corresponded with former students in World War II.
A0041 L. W. "Lett" Leroy Collection -- Faculty member; author of "Fading Shadows."
A0042 Lloyd Madden Collection-- Class of 1940; one of Mines' most famous football players.
A0045 Grace McDermut Mulligan Collection -- Class of 1903; second woman graduate of the School.
A0052 Florence Caldwell Collection -- Class of 1898; first woman graduate of the School.
Research: Mines Faculty, Students & Alumni
Mines faculty, student and alumni publications can be found in core databases according to subject, for example:
- GeoRef (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database provides access to geoscience literature from around the world. It contains geoscience maps, journal articles, non-journal literature, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. Coverage for North American resources starts in 1669, whereas worldwide coverage starts in 1933. - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use CAS SciFinder-n in identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, molecular formula, chemical names, reaction components, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields.
Access Note: Database use is restricted to current Mines-affiliates only and requires an individual user account to access. First-time users must register for an account using your @mines.edu email. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases. - Materials Science Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance, and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.
