Related Guides
Starting Out
Our "Top Picks" for geology databases are a good place to start. Use the Tabs (left) for additional resources. Tips:
1) Mix and match your subject (fluvial systems, isotope 
geochemistry, mineralization, etc.) with the names of: rock units (Fountain Formation, Pierre Shale); structures (Paradox Basin, Beartooth Uplift); locations (Jefferson County, Golden quadrangle); time periods (Upper Cretaceous, Precambrian).
2) Are some of your findings "old"? Field studies, mapping, observation, and lab analyses can still be valuable after decades.
3) Does your subject cross disciplines? Consider searching the literature of chemistry, engineering, environmental science and others.
4) Having trouble finding a specific publication? Check with a librarian--Some works (conference proceedings, field guidebooks, etc.) are quirky and can be difficult to discover.
(Big Thompson Mesa, UT. NASA Earth Observatory, 2009.)
Top Picks
- GeoRef (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
GeoRef provides access to millions of references in the geosciences, including journal articles, reports, books, maps, and dissertations. North American coverage: 1669-present. International coverage: 1933-present. - GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Publications from the major professional societies in the earth sciences, including peer-reviewed journals linked to full text. Uses a version of GeoRef. - AAPG Datapages/Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to American Association of Petroleum Geologists publications, including AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Volumes, Journal of Petroleum Geology, Petroleum Abstracts Discovery file, as well as publications by several regional groups. Includes access to the GIS-UDRIL (GIS Upstream Digital Reference Information Library) database of projects in GIS formats. Note: Petroleum Abstracts is ceasing operations and access will end on December 31, 2024.
- USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new window
Access to over 130,000 publications of USGS authors, including journal articles; USGS Bulletins, Professional Papers, etc.; book chapters, and other materials.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Graduate research, including the geosciences, earth resource exploration, planetary sciences.
- EarthArXiv Preprints
Preprint in the geosciences not yet peer reviewed/published -- Useful for new developments, geohazard updates, etc.