Mines Library Catalog Search
You may use the Mines Library Catalog to search for print and electronic books on your research topic. Use the faceted filters on the right side of the search result to narrow it down to Resource Types / Books.
For example, here is the results of a search on game development, and limited to books published from 2015 to the present. This finds over 700 items, mostly ebooks.
If our copy is checked out, or if you are not finding what you are looking for, you can broaden your search to include dozens of academic and public libraries in Colorado and Wyoming by searching the Prospector Catalog.
Please note: not all electronic books which the library has access to are searchable through the catalog. Use some of our ebook packages (listed below) to search for more electronic books on your research topic.
Below are some examples of books that we have concerning computer or video game design and creation.
Designing Immersive Video Games Using 3DUI Technologies by ISBN: 3319779524Publication Date: 2018-06-11A 3D user interface (3DUI) is an interface in which the user performs tasks in three dimensions. For example, interactions using hand/body gestures, interaction using a motion controller (e.g. Sony PlayStation Move), interaction with virtual reality devices using tracked motion controllers, etc. All these technologies which let a user interact in three dimensions are called 3D user interface technologies.
Handbook of Digital Games and Entertainment Technologies by ISBN: 9814560502Publication Date: 2017-03-01The topics treated in this handbook cover all areas of games and entertainment technologies, such as digital entertainment; technology, design/art, and sociology. The handbook consists of contributions from top class scholars and researchers from the interdisciplinary topic areas. The aim of this handbook is to serving as a key reference work in the field and provides readers with a holistic picture of this interdisciplinary field covering technical issues, aesthetic/design issues, and sociological issues. At present, there is no reference work in the field that provides such a broad and complete picture of the field.
Simulation and Gaming in the Network Society by ISBN: 9811005745Publication Date: 2016-08-03This book provides the state of the art in the simulation and gaming study field by systematically collecting excellent papers presented at the 46th International Simulation and Gaming Association annual conference held in Kyoto 17-25 July 2015. Simulation and gaming has been used in a wide variety of areas ranging from early childhood education and school-age children, universities, and professional education, to policy exploration and social problem solving.
Python, Pygame and Raspberry Pi Game Development by ISBN: 1484225163Publication Date: 2016-12-24Gain the basics of Python and use PyGame to create fast-paced video games with great graphics and sounds. You'll also learn about object oriented programming (OOP) as well as design patterns like model-view-controller (MVC) and finite state machines (FSMs). Python, PyGame and Raspberry Pi Game Development teaches you how to use Python and PyGame on your computer. Whether you use Windows, macOS, Linux, or a Raspberry Pi you can unleash the power of Python and PyGame to create great looking games.
Frontiers in Gaming Simulation by ISBN: 3319049534Publication Date: 2014-02-05The papers are organized in topical sections on frontiers in gaming simulation for education; frontiers in gaming simulation for design and experimentation; frontiers in gaming simulation for transportation and logistics; and professionalism and business in gaming simulation.
Level up! the Guide to Great Video Game Design by ISBN: 1306639204Publication Date: 2014-01-01Want to design your own video games? Let expert Scott Rogers show you how If you want to design and build cutting-edge video games but aren't sure where to start, then the SECOND EDITION of the acclaimed "Level Up " is for you.
Game Development Principles by ISBN: 1285427068Publication Date: 2013-01-01The art of game development requires much more than simply the ability to operate game-programming software. Compelling, successful games--games that enchant players and stand the test of time--are created by developers who have absorbed the fundamental principles of good game design. Unless you get your mind around that basic theoretical framework, making games is destined to remain a frustrating, disappointing exercise.- Computer Games and New Media Cultures: a Handbook of Digital Games StudiesISBN: 1280996722Publication Date: 2012-09-07Digital gaming is today a significant economic phenomenon as well as being an intrinsic part of a convergent media culture in postmodern societies. Its ubiquity, as well as the sheer volume of hours young people spend gaming, should make it ripe for urgent academic enquiry, yet the subject was a research backwater until the turn of the millennium.
Game Development Essentials by Call Number: QA76.76.C672 N69 2012ISBN: 9781111307653Publication Date: 2011-08-17This book is an authoritative, industry-driven introduction to the world of game development, with updates that keep readers current and well-prepared for a successful career in the field. This book not only examines content creation and the concepts behind development, but it also give readers a background on the evolution of game development and how it has become what it is today.
Core Electronic Book Packages
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is Springer's comprehensive online delivery platform, providing easy access to millions of resources, including ebooks, journal articles, reference works, and protocols.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process, and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines. Provides interactive content including equations, graphs, and tables. It has technical reference resources from ebooks and standards as well as publishers including AIChE/CCPS, NACE, and more. - AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes engineering reference sources, with the latest editions of Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more ebooks.
Not finding what you need? - Search broader
Use Google Books to search for a book. If you find a book not available at Mines Library, please try Prospector first, and then our Interlibrary Loan service to get it.
Search across catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries across the world using Worldcat.org. If you find a book in Worldcat that we do not have at Mines Library, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. - Mines Repository: Theses & Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Open access Mines thesis & dissertations from 1883 to current held in the Mines Repository. Select titles may have an embargo.
Requesting Books Through ILL
If a book you need for your research is not available in our collection, we can get it for you!
First check Prospector, and then request it though Interlibrary Loan if it is not available in Prospector.
Please note: it can take up to 12 days to receive a book through interlibrary loan.