Mines Library Catalog Search
To start, you may use the Mines Library Catalog to search for research articles for a broad understanding of your research topic. Use the faceted filters on the right side of the search result to narrow it down to Resource Types / Articles.
Please note: not all research articles which the library subscribes to are searchable through the catalog. You can use the catalog for a broad search to get started and use specialized databases for more specific and comprehensive searches on your topic.
Core Electronic Databases for Gaming Research
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore digital library features content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), containing current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science with select content back to 1872. Select access to standards. - SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text coverage for all the sciences, engineering, forestry, geography, homeland security and terrorism, International relations, mathematics, military and defense, public health and safety, and sustainability. - Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. The thesauri on Engineering Village comprise the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, GEOBASE and EnCompass databases. - ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines. - Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. - Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
Journals in the field
We have access to many of the major journals in gaming research. Below is an assortment.
Computer Animation and Virtual Worlds
Computers in Entertainment (ACM)
Game Studies: the international journal of computer game research
IEEE Transactions on Computational Intelligence and AI in Games (2009-2017)
IEEE Transactions on Games (2018-present)
International Journal of Computer Games Technology
International Journal of Game-Based Learning
International Journal of Gaming and Computer-Mediated Simulation
International Journal of Serious Games
Journal of Virtual Worlds Research
Loading… The Official Journal of the Canadian Game Studies Association
Specialized Databases
Gamasutra - The art and business of making games.
- Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news, and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
The SpringerLink platform contains the Morgan & Claypool Synthesis: Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science ebook collection. Each ebook synthesizes an important research or development topic authored by an expert contributor to the field. - Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database offering information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Here is information on how to set up Google Scholar to find Mines resources. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. - Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Pop Culture Studies provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, or liberal arts courses. - Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
CiteSeerX (http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/index) is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Journal Title Search
If you know the title of the journal you want to browse, you could search for the journal title in the catalog. For example, if you do a search on Journal of Operations Management, the first item to come up will be the catalog record for the journal. You can then view the table of contents for the journal.
Search Terms
Try these keywords when searching for information about your topic.
- Computer games
- Computer games AND design
- Computer games AND development
- Computer games industry
- Electronic games
- Gaming
- Game design
- Internet games
- Motion pictures and video games
- Online games
- Three-dimensional display systems
- Video games
- Video games AND children
- Video games AND design
- Video games AND development
- Video games AND legislation
- Video games in art
- Videogames (one word)
- Virtual reality