Library Guides: Open Educational Resources: Finding Images, Audio, and Video

Finding Images, Audio, and Video

FINDING IMAGES, AUDIO, and video

When adapting or creating OER, you might want to use or link to images, audio clips, or videos. Here are some places for you to find openly available resources to use in OER. Another excellent place to look is archive.org, which contains hundreds of repositories that are more niche or do not cleanly fit into the lists below. However, not all of these sources are fully open. Make sure to check individual Creative Commons licenses or usage permissions before using a resource.

Open Images

Websites that have open images, icons, figures, and photographs

Creative Commons Search
Find content you can share, use, and remix from a vast array of media items shared on the web with a Creative Commons license.
NASA Images
Public access to NASA's image, video, and audio collections in a single, searchable resource.
The Noun Project
Source for free icon graphics. Icons may be downloaded for free but require attribution to the author.
Internet Archive: Community Images
Source for images contributed by Internet Archive users and community members.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content including images, sound and video clips.
Unsplash
Unsplash has millions of royalty-free images shared freely by creators.
Pixabay
Over 830,000 free stock photos, vectors and art illustrations.
Flickr Creative Commons
Flickr users can opt to use a creative commons license to share their work with others.
Pexels
Source for free stock photos, royalty-free images and videos. Each image will have a Creative Commons license explaining how it may be used.

Open Audio

Websites that give access to interviews, music, and other audio

Free Music Archive
Access to independent artists and original music; free to play, download, and share.
NPR Music
Freely accessible, but not openly licensed, music, music news, and podcasts.
Old Time Radio
Access to radio broadcasts from the early 20th century provided by the internet Archive.
Freesound
Collaborative database of audio snippets, samples and recordings released under Creative Commons licenses.
Community Audio
Thousands of recordings shared by Internet Archive uses and community members under Creative Commons licenses.
LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection
Access to the audio recording of LibriVox, a community of volunteers who records public domain texts in many different languages.
Live Music Archive
A collection of fan recorded concerts. Artists have opted in for inclusion in this collection, and all uses are strictly non-commercial.
Folksoundomy
A collection of sounds, music, and speech.
Library of Congress Audio Recordings
The Library of Congress' collection of audio recordings, from music to interviews.

Open Video

Websites that have open access to films, talks, and other video

Vimeo Creative Commons
Browse all the videos that Vimeo users have shared with Creative Commons licenses.
PBS
Explore a catalog of freely accessible, but not openly licensed, content from the Public Broadcasting Service.
Ted Talks - TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design)
Nonprofit videos lectures devoted to "Ideas Worth Spreading."
Library of Congress Film and Video
The Library of Congress' collection of video recordings.
Community Video
Millions of video recordings shared by Internet Archive uses and community members under Creative Commons licenses.
Short Format Films
A collection of short films contributed by Internet Archive users.
Pexels
Source for free stock photos, royalty-free images and videos. Each image will have a Creative Commons license explaining how it may be used.
Internet Archive - Moving Image Archive
Over 1.5 million digitized video clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films. Many of these sources are in the public domain or available via Creative Commons.