Simulations and Virtual Labs
Our teaching and learning environments have changed quite rapidly this year! This page provides a (growing) list of free virtual labs and simulations. See the "Finding OER" tab for freely available textbooks and other course materials. If you find or create a resource to share, please email Emily Bongiovanni (emilybongiovanni@mines.edu) to have it added to the page.
Software repositories that include thousands of open source programs that do not cleanly fit into the categories bellow include theCommunity Software Internet Archive and Software Library.
Please see our vast list of research guides for lists of resources (both OER and non-OER) curated for specific subjects or course.
This page is the product of the Open Education community, who quickly came together to share resources and help each other's campuses.
For disciplinary organization, see: Digital Commons Three-Tiered List of Academic Disciplines
Engineering
- Energy3DA simulation-based engineering tool for designing green buildings and power stations that harness renewable energy to achieve sustainable development.
- FlowsquareA two-dimensional computational fluid dynamics (CFD) software for unsteady, non-reactive/reactive flows. The aim of this software is to provide a handy CFD environment so that more people can get to know what CFD is like and simulate flows for their educational and/or academic interests.
- GNU RadioA free & open-source software development toolkit that provides signal processing blocks to implement software radios. It can be used with readily-available low-cost external RF hardware to create software-defined radios, or without hardware in a simulation-like environment.
- LogicSimdesign and simulate digital logic circuits with logic gates like AND, OR, FlipFlop, etc.
- Open Simulation InterfaceA generic interface for the environmental perception of automated driving functions in virtual scenarios.
- Reactor LabA desktop app that provides simulations of a variety of chemical reactors. The Lab is useful in teaching Chemical Reaction Engineering. Students can actively learn about chemical reactions and reactors by performing experiments and analyzing data – quickly, safely, and inexpensively.
- SimSEAn educational software engineering simulation environment whose goal is to bridge the gap between the large amount of conceptual software engineering knowledge given to students in lectures and the comparably small amount of this they actually get to put into practice in an associated "toy" software engineering project.
- VerilatorVerilog/SystemVerilog simulator.
- Virtual LabsCollection of virtual labs in engineering.
- Virtual LabsProvides users with the result of an experiment by one of the following methods: modeling physical phenomenon through a set of equations and simulations to yield the result of a particular experiment.
Life Sciences
- Avida-EDAllows students to design and perform experiments to test hypotheses about evolutionary mechanisms using evolving digital organisms.
- Biology SimulationsSimulations to help students learn about biology and practice data analysis skills.
- Bioman BiologyBioMan Biology is the fun place to learn Biology! Here you will find learning games, review games, virtual labs and quizzes that will help you to learn about cells, ecology, genetics, physiology, and much more!
- Build Your Own Brain (BYOB)An online game that lets the user build a simple network of neurons and see how they might function.
- Case It!Molecular biology simulations for case-based learning in biology.
- DNA from the BeginningAn animated primer of 75 experiments that made modern genetics.
- eSkeletonsProvides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy.
- Evo EdCase studies in evolution that track the development of traits from their origination in DNA mutation, to the production of different proteins, to the fixation of alternate macroscopic phenotypes in reproductively isolated populations.
- General Microbiology LabsLabs and lectures on microbiology from the University of Wyoming.
- GeniventureStudents level up as they select alleles to control phenotypes, make predictions from genotypes, use meiosis to create gametes, and study inheritance by breeding baby drakes.
- HHMI BioInteractiveLabs, interactive media, and videos. Also offers iOS apps.
- Learn.GeneticsOffers online lessons in genetics, cell biology, evolution, human health, plant biology, neuroscience, and ecology. Also offers interactive genetics labs.
- NAVS Online Dissection ResourcesCurated list of virtual dissection labs and simulations from the National Anti-Vivisection Society.
- NCEP Resources for Conservation Educators and PractitionersOpen access, electronic resources for conservation educators and trainers. They include diverse topics in conservation science and are designed for the post-secondary level.
- Neuroscience in the time of CoronaCrowd-sourced compendium of resources for teaching neuroscience.
- Nursing Assistant Resources: Virtual DissectionVirtual dissection labs for studying human and animal anatomy and physiology.
- Optical Microscopy PrimerVirtual microscopes that offer lessons in specimen focus, illumination intensity, magnification, and translation.
- QUBESVirtual labs and simulations for teaching quantitative biology.
- StarGeneticsMendelian genetics cross simulator. Allows students to simulate mating experiments between organisms that are genetically different across a range of traits to analyze the nature of the traits in question.
- Virtual Fetal Pig DissectionSupplement to laboratory dissections exploring introductory mammalian anatomy and physiology.
- Whole Frog ProjectProvides the ability to explore the anatomy of a frog by using data from high resolution MRI imaging and mechanical sectioning, together with 3D surface and volume rendering software.
Medicine and Health Sciences
- ActivEpiAn electronic textbook for teaching epidemiology.
- Community Health NursingResources for the Community Nursing Diagnosis Assessment.
- Jim Allison: BreakthroughAward winning documentary with accompanying toolkit and lesson plans.
- MDCUNEModular Digital Course in Undergraduate Neuroscience Education (MDCUNE) provides completely digital, inquiry-based laboratory modules in neuroscience.
- Nordic University Health HubOpen Educational Resources on Health from Nordic universities.
- Open Neuroscience EducationLabs, open data, and other resources for teaching neuroscience.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.
- Solve the OutbreakEpidemiology simulation from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Physical Sciences and Mathematics
- AlgodooGives users the opportunity to play with physics. Use your own hands and simple drawing tools to design, construct and explore the world of physics.
- Astro SimulationsOnline implementation of several NAAP simulations from the Columbia University Center for Teaching and Learning.
- Chem1 Virtual TextbookReference text for general chemistry.
- CheMagicProvides a virtual model kit, chemistry demonstration videos, and liberal arts chemistry essays.
- ChemCollectiveA collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
- ChemixChemix is an online editor for drawing science lab diagrams and school experiment apparatus. The app provides easy sketching for both students and teachers.
- ChemReaXA chemical reaction modeling and simulation app.
- ChemSimsSimulations from the National Science Foundation covering solubility, kinetics, atomic interactions, gas laws, equilibrium, acid base, photoelectric effect, and atomic emissions.
- Digital Lab Techniques ManualA series of videos designed to help users prepare for chemistry laboratory class.
- GEAS Project Astronomy Laboratory ExercisesOnline exercises designed for distance learning. Includes archive of images and spectra as well as video tutorials.
- goREACTCreate virtual chemical reactions.
- The Habitable Planet: A Systems Approach to Environmental ScienceEnvironmental Science online course text and a coordinated website which includes streamed video programs, five interactive simulations, background on the scientists who created the content and those whose research is documented, a professional development guide, and additional resources.
- HTML5 Physics SimulationsManipulate systems and experiment with climate change, motion, forces, gravity, momentum, energy, and rotation.
- Jules Verne Voyager, Jr.An interactive map developed by UNAVCO where users can add earthquakes, stress axes, volcanoes, or plate boundaries to the entire world or by country.
- Mixed ReceptionStudents use molar mass calculations, the scientific method, and basic knowledge of chemical reactions to solve a murder mystery. Students interview suspects and gather evidence as they solve the case.
- NC State Undergraduate Organic Chemistry Teaching Laboratories - S.M.A.R.T. Lab VideosStudent created videos teaching introductory organic chemistry lab techniques.
- Nebraska Astronomy Applet ProjectSimulations of a wide range of astronomical phenomena, organized into unites of related simulations with readings.
- Nuclear Reimagined Virtual Field TripJourney to the leading nuclear research facility in the country, Idaho National Laboratory. Step inside a nuclear reactor, explore unexpected careers in nuclear science, and see what the future may hold thanks to advances in nuclear capabilities.
- Online Resources for Organic ChemistryList of URLs to online animations, videos, simulations, & demos compiled by the chem ed and biochem ed communities.
- Open Source PhysicsProvides curriculum resources that engage students in physics, computation, and computer modeling. Computational physics and computer modeling provide students with new ways to understand, describe, explain, and predict physical phenomena.
- oPhysicsA collection of interactive physics simulations.
- Physical Geology 101 Lab Study MaterialA handful of virtual labs with fillable worksheets and lab reports.
- The Physics AviaryCross-platform, run-anywhere, programs to help physics students around the world master the big ideas in physics.
- The Physics ClassroomPhysics simulations, tutorials, and concept builders.
- Physics SimulationsInteractive physics simulations.
- PlanetMakerAllows users to create and tweak their own planet using image textures and lighting.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Education ResourcesResources to help teach chemistry for primary, secondary, and higher education.
- ScilabOpen source software for numerical computation.
- SDSS Skyserver ProjectsActivities to examine many topics in astronomy including H-R diagrams, spectroscopies, galaxy classification, Hubble's Law, and more.
- Teaching Geoscience OnlineGeoscience lab activities.
- Tutorial Materials and Resources by Professor Gary L. BertrandList of simulated experiments, self-tests, and tutorials.
- Virtual Chemistry ExperimentsA collection of interactive web-based chemistry tutorials.
- Virtual MicroscopeAllows users to examine and explore minerals and microscopic features of rocks, helping them to develop classification and identification skills without the need for high-cost microscopes and thin section preparation facilities.
Social and Behavioral Sciences
- AnyLogicSimulation software that combines discrete event, system dynamics, and agent-based simulation methods so you can model any real-world system or process.
- iCivicsDesigned to engage students in meaningful civic learning. Provides teachers with well-written, inventive, and free resources.
- APA Online Psychology LaboratoryOffers interactive demonstrations and experiments as well as sample datasets.
Multi-Disciplinary
- CK-12Multidisciplinary open-source content and technology tools to help
teachers provide learning for students. - Data NuggetsProvides details of authentic science research projects and activities for practice looking for patterns and developing explanations about natural phenomena.
- Gendered Innovations Case StudiesCase studies demonstrating how methods of sex and gender analysis function to create gendered innovations in science, health, medicine, engineering, and environment.
- Investigative Case-Based LearningInvestigative cases draw from realistic situations in which scientific reasoning can be applied. Although the case defines a general area of science under investigation, students generate specific questions to guide their study.
- JoVE: Journal of Visual Experiments This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer-reviewed scientific video journal. By allowing scientists, educators, and students to see the intricate details of experiments rather than read them in text articles.
- LabXchangeCurates and creates world-class digital labs, delivered on a free, online platform that lets you integrate your learning and research experiences.
- LibreTextsMultidisciplinary online textbook platform.
- Molecular WorkbenchA modeling tool for designing and conducting computational experiments across science.
- National Center for Case Study Teaching in ScienceA collection of essays examining every aspect of the case study method and its use in the science classroom.
- NOVAIn-depth science programming in the form of one-hour documentaries and long-form mini-series, from the latest breakthroughs in technology to the deepest mysteries of the natural world.
- Science BuddiesEmpowers K-12 students, parents, and teachers to quickly and easily find free project ideas and help in all areas of science from physics to food science and music to microbiology.
- WOLFRAM Demonstrations ProjectPart of the family of free online resources from Wolfram. Its daily growing collection of interactive illustrations is created by participating Wolfram users from around the world.